December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Press X to Win

by Lost King - Jam Entry

Controls:
X - Win

Choose a character!
Fight against evil terrorist organizations!
Save the world!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.61
Coolness66%
#32Theme(Jam)3.77
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#131Audio(Jam)3.34
#131Innovation(Jam)3.27
#159Overall(Jam)3.34
#198Fun(Jam)3.06
#262Graphics(Jam)3.23

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

10/10 deep experience

kwaze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

It's brilliant. A scathing review of an industry in decline. Lost King's "Press X to Win" breaks new ground with its innovative AAAA gameplay and stellar sound design. I can't imagine a human being who won't be moved by the brilliant characterization and dramatic story. This game is a testament to the age we're living in. 10/10 Two American thumbs WAY up.

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

GOTY 10/7 would play again

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11am

"...Revolutionary. Lost King delivers a knock-out one-two punch to industry convention. 10/10"
"This is the best game you will ever play...Period."
"...Brilliant..."

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41am

I think the game would benefit a lot if you could simplify the control scheme. It takes far too much effort to get a hold of.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

Haha! Looks like a modern interpretation of Super Press Space Bar to Win (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/495903). A cool, funny non-game, that entertains. I could put more in the review, but I think this review (of SPStW) would sum it up nicely: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Z2Z23SAFVA&noredirect=1

P.S.

The last achievement you get is pure gold.

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47am

With all the quick time events and deep intricate plot, I thought I was playing the latest AAA game from David Cage. It's like Heavy Indigo Two Souls Rain! I felt like my choices really effected the outcome of the story.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47am

Oh god I was laughing so hard at all the splash screens. Too bad my X button is broken or I would have won.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

Loved the splash screens

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:50am

You only get one AMEEERRRIIIICCCAAAAAAAAAAA

Can I get an album with your credits song as every track on that album?

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53am

Great!

Less says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

"Puts Call of Duty to Shame" - IGN

10/10

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09am

Nice parody of the modern shooter genre :D I really liked the song at the end, so much patriotism overall.

tklovert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02pm

This was pretty funny although lacking in gameplay, especially for the Jam.

I liked the visuals quite a bit.

Also was an interesting take on the theme, although, again, you could have made it a bit more of a game while still retaining the idea you were going for (hit x at the right time, mash x a number of times in a limit, hit x to a rhythm, etc...).

The music was fitting and sometimes funny, but that midi guitar at the beginning was so freakin bad lol.

All in all, it wasn't a cookie cutter "you only get one weapon" so I liked it.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Heh, I knew there was going to be at least a game with this idea, given the theme. Loved the music, gameplay is, well... THe title explains it rather well :)

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

It was really hard to hold myself back from laughing :P
The game reminded me of a passage in Portal 2 ([Space] -> Say "Apple")

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

An awesome new installment in the proud tradition of AAA shooter game development. Mechanically devoid of any kind of depth or innovation, but a glorious experience nonetheless, worth passing on to future generations.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:20pm

A must have on any platform although it benefits most of the fine control offered by a mouse and keyboard.

doitle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:23am

I really hope Lost King is planning to post the soundtrack for this somewhere for download.

kwaze says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:32am

I'm not Lost King, but I did make the music.

https://soundcloud.com/kwazekwaze/buffs-takes-a-slightly
All the music for the game is there and free to download.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:20am

Press x to disregard plot. wish i can do this in every game

Avocado says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:46am

Kwaze was in charge of all the music, so yeah if you're looking for the soundtrack feel free to follow that link. On the flip side you could just open the resources folder in the game folder and go into sounds and you'd even get the sound effects!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:31am

BEEBEEBEEBEEP BEEBEEBEEBEEP BEEBEEBEEBEEP

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Funny from the splash screens to closing the game. Of course, it was more of an animation than a game, and even limited to pressing one key, it might have been nice to have actual gameplay. I guess that's because it's a commentary on AAA games, but it's not much of an excuse. Still, it was funny.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Press X to... OMGTRIPLEKILLAMSOHAPPYYAY!
Seriously, 5/5 in humour!

michail says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Despite the lack of gameplay, I enjoyed it. The audio and graphics fit the humor very well and the idea is well executed.

Pitzik4 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:16pm

How do I write a review? Oh, of course. X

Blinked says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:07pm

PRESS X TO FREEDOM!

Seppel says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:32am

Loved it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]