December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

First Hour Superpower

by tayl1r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Hour Superpower is a platformer where you are introduced to various extra abilities: such as a double jump, air dash, or ability to smash blocks; but must then choose only one to complete the level with.

My tools of choice were Unity, Photoshop, sfxr and Abundant.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57am

Cool. I think, suits the theme PERFECTLY. I love the graphics and the sound, map switching is odd sometimes, but it doesn't matter, very good game!

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Loved the game! Really innovative! It´s like a metroidvania, but even more non-linear. And I love me some metroidvanias! Great job man!

sam1373 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28pm

That was very fun! It's strange how "water does not harm you" is at the same time the most boring and helpful power.

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:35am

Absolutely awesome game. The movement was a tiny tiny bit too slow for my liking, but the game itself was amazing. Really cool how much content you got in. I love how you can get through the game using different powers. Might have been cool if you could pick up the different powers, but I guess that ruins the theme.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Glad people have liked it so far!

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I really love the way this game feels. Really solid controls, jumping feels *right*.

The one-power thing is clever. They're all well implemented, and I'd love to see a longer game built out of it. Maye with you picking one power per level? Or doing the switching thing like in the tutorial.

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:13am

Very fun! Sound was cool, and I loved the idea of just taking one perk with you, good job!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Wow not bad! I think it was not easy to design those levels which are still solveable, if you have one of the skills. I had fun and played until the end.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Made it to the end using double jump. Very cool concept and well executed. I found it a little bit too frustrating at times, but that can easily happen in a 48 hour project and is not that big of a deal. Viuals and Audio are relatively basic bust seem just right for the game - maybe a dark/subtle background of some kind would have improved the game's appeal though.
I like the original way of approaching the theme and feel that this is definitely one of the better games of this LD. The tutorial level was very nice as well, and it's cool that is uses a different tileset than the actual game. Great work overall!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Oh right, and the level design was excellent, considering you had to make sure it works for all the abilities. I didn't try out any of the other ones yet, but using double jump I found a suitable path relatively quickly, and the challenges/"puzzles" seemed quite solvable for the most part.

Madball says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Oh, nice idea! I liked the idea of changing your powers more, but having only one is also good. I'd like to see this game with 8 superpowers you planned.
I was able to get the "weight" ending with a double jump.

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:41am

Interesting idea, it seems like you did not manage to avoid the main problem with it though and that is that you need to design lots of extra content to kmake all powers viable. It was a decent game, would have been nice with a more clear increase in difficulty close to the end.

Knighty says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Pretty fun and good use of theme.
I thought the movement was a bit weird. There's acceleration but no deceleration, you just stop instantly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]