December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Public Mischief Performance

by Jiggawatt - Jam Entry

* Sadly somewhat unfinished at the time of submission. No title/in-game manual, music or some of the cool content I thought of putting in. But it's fully playable otherwise. *


Halp:
You are launched out of a cannon and have to use your probe to break things with style. The character itself is vulnerable to collisions, so make sure to shield it by rotating the probe.

The probe has special properties that can be used as you charge the yellow bar with combos: slow time or use the probe to push you.

Controls:
Enter: launch cannon
Left/Right: rotate cannon and probe (with Shift to rotate the probe slower)
Z: toggle nitro mode on/off (the probe will propel the character to the opposite direction)
X: toggle bullet time mode on/off (you're gonna need this)
R: reset

Judging:
After dying or running out of speed, a jury will evaluate your performance. Each of the three judges likes some aspect of mayhem more than others, see if you can deduce which from their hints and eventually please them all.

Edit: changed the link to a html page with embedded instructions, didn't touch the game itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#9Humor(Jam)4.06
#114Innovation(Jam)3.31
#196Fun(Jam)3.07
#219Audio(Jam)3.03
#229Overall(Jam)3.16
#339Graphics(Jam)2.96
#370Mood(Jam)2.62
#412Theme(Jam)2.33

Comments

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17am

THAT FACE

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19am

...Has no resemblance to the author.

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:30am

Definitely unique. The judges are amazing.

Insane, frustrating, darn nuts... and it kept me trying and trying and trying (and failing) because I wanted to know how I'd be insulted by the judges or the game next. Well done!

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28am

The faces! OH THE FACES! This game made me laugh, i like it!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50am

A little complicated and hard to get decent at it, but pretty good over all.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55am

The key is to use bullet time and nitro mode at the right places. There's not really any deeper "weirdness" involved in the core mechanics (though one might expect that from some of my earlier entries). With a bit of practice you'll get the nitro meter charged and it gets slightly safer from there.

drnick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

It's confusing

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23am

this is confusing.

also fun once i figured it out lol... the face tho

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26am

AH GREAT NOW THE SHOUTBOX IS RUINED

Then again, I was kind of asking for it.

khahem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:28pm

A bit hard but very fun. And those voices... awesome :)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Pfffthahaahahahhrahahrahah. Pretty good, oh except for the part with no combahz.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Haha, so funny! The gameplay is a bit hard to figure out, but it's nice when you got it. And the faces and the voices are hilarous, good job with these!

Rahazan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nanda Kore/5

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Pretty good... except for the part with no combos

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nanda kore!!!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

This is now my hands-down favorite game in the jam. Just incredible.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

The faces and the voices are amazing.

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Nanda kore!

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08pm

All I have to say is, 50 shades of derp XD them judge faces man! This is hilarious though! Good physics, good mechanics, awesome satisfaction.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

NANDA KORE WOULD PLAY AGAIN

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14am

なんじゃこりゃあああ
でも Loved it :3

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:15am

Oops, it's mojibake'd. Sorry

Rahazan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56pm

You have been awarded the first Nanda Kore Award of Comedy Excellence.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

wat is happen

madmaw says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:57am

So cool

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Judges are awesome. You should definately add a replay function to this and let people share their runs :) Awesome.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I like the difficult and fun mechanic here. Judges are a hilarious touch.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very hard game. Good smooth gameplay, well done.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:26am

Very odd, but interesting game. Extra marks from me.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:34am

BUSINESSMAN FOOLGARBAGE

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:09pm

It's so hilarious and scary to face judgement. The funniest game i've played till now in the jam.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Now with a gameplay video where I please all the judges. Go check it out for hints on how to play.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:52pm

whaddefuckdidijustplay :D pretty crazy game

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Do the real LD judges look like that?

/me imagines so

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice game ! Funny concept, good idea !

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Love the characterisation with the judges and their pithy comments, the faces are superb. It wasn't particularly intuitive though to me - and I did "read the manual" despite being told off for not doing so ;) Very amusing entry thank you

GFM says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:57pm

なんだこれ~
すげえじゃねの~

This was definitely funny! Typical Jiggawatt humor... from what I've seen from your posts.
And it's so much more user-friendly then some of your previous entries! (actually, I've only played the last one =X)

Really fun to play wrecking havoc and looking for new expressions from the judges! =D

eli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:06pm

OK this was amazing. I really suck at it but I saw the gameplay vid and feel I "got the idea".

Really ... the judging is worth the whole game and I want to watch high-level players go at an extended version of this.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:24am

Hahahaha, dat face thou

Very funny :) I love it

Diptoman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:32am

Crazy, hard and awesome xD
Had trouble figuring out how to control the character properly, then I saw the gameplay vid. Pretty cool, had a lot of fun playing this. And OH, the judges were epic xD

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Woo, got some press: http://indiestatik.com/2013/12/24/ludum-dare-28-part-two/

Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice. I enjoyed the fast gameplay. Wish it had a scoretracking thing so i could see how i was doing with quick feedback. excellent physics and control and special moves. <3

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I like the faces. It's really fast though :) It has potential. A pity you couldn't finish it for the jam

stvr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:57am

Jam Award: Best use of speech synthesis.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:44am

Controls are hard to get used with.. but gameplay is good, sounds/art are little weaker though. But we know that's all about judging.. :-D

Vi-King Games says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:28pm

5/5 would watch again

Sheepolution says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Innovative and fun! I had trouble trying to find out what the critics want though.

rxi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I really love the dithering.

Sim says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Strange game mechanics but it's quite fun after trying a few times and seeing how it's meant to be done. Faces and text-to-speech were hilarious.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]