December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moon's quest

by JaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play the web version in chrome please. Played in explorer the graphics are completely screwed up and there is no sound, and in firefox there is no music.

Moon's quest is a turn based rpg where every ally (and every monster as well) has only one move/spell.

Everyone is born with a "gift." This gift is the spell each character can use (Fire, Blaze, Ice, Blizzard, Ray, Divine, Dark and Fight.) So that's it, you only get one spell!

Strangely enough, it's still very playable, with many strategic choices to make. I'm actually surprised myself.

Use the arrow keys to select/ move and "A" to confirm. Sorry, no back button.

Note that while there are only 4 different enemy sprites, there are actually many more enemies. The sprite tells you the alignment. (phoenix-fire, slime-light, bat-dark, cone-ice) But not the "gift" or the HP of the enemy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#15Graphics4.39
#19Audio3.85
#28Overall3.93
#113Mood3.48
#139Fun3.46
#311Theme3.21
#372Humor2.54
#517Innovation2.89

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

5 starts for the graphics. Really a good job! *_*

Tym0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20am

i really like it! got an error after some time in the cave though.

got FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step EventobjWalker
for object transporter:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -1.myx(100078, -1)
at gml_Object_transporter_Collision_30

JaJ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Thanks! I know where the error comes from, shouldn't be too hard to fix. It seems I placed some objects at the wrong place. That's when that happens.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Loved the retro feel. I liked the attack or skip gameplay, that way you avoid the repeated attack/attack/attack!!! on traditional RPGs. Great job!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

looks really amazing, wish i could play on the mac

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:33am

Perfect retro mood. Excellent graphics, sound, design.. Pretty much all of it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I was excited by this once since I listened to the music. Really like the art style, picking a good party is very important. Found the secret island :) Really good. 5 stars.

JaJ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Yeah, you have to think about your party, it's not that individual characters are bad (well some might be) but that the combination is very important.

I like a light mage with either a fire hero + Fireling or ice hero + frostling, but there are other options.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Good, old-school game. Solid interface. Wish I had more time to play it. =)

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15am

Nice retro feel, seems like a solid old school RPG, with a twist.

daviwil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08am

Great graphics and music! Also impressed with the amount of content you made in 48 hours. Great work!

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55am

Great job on atmosphere, graphics and music !

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06am

Wow, so much strategy with only one move. I guess its the number of gifts and people in your party that makes the interesting choices. Awesome gameboy vibe. Feels very authentic. Overall - perfect!

tobbez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Pretty nice overall, but it's kind of annoying when you get stuck because both parties have one hero each of the same kind left, and they can just heal each other.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

This is so awesome! So impressive for 48 hours, rated highly. :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Woahhhhh, this game is so cooool! I absolutely love it. I have no idea how you pulled this off in 48 hours but job well done :)

The graphics and sound were amazing too! Jealous :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Really well done for such a short time! Loved the music and game boy like graphics.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

loving the graphics ;D

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Well... this is the best entry I've seen so far. I mean the look is perfect. It sounds delicious. It plays smoothly and is almost immediately engaging.

Absolutely BRILLIANT entry! Here, have all my votes. And all my money if you make it into a proper finished game!

Thank you and congrats!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Oh man. THAT MUSIC. THAT MUSIC! This is very impressive for a compo. Great work on nailing a consistent visual style and getting the audio SO SO SO PERFECT. The theme led you to a very interesting mechanic that creates a kind of strategy you wouldn't initially expect.

Great work!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I'm well impressed!! Huge amount of work. If you want to continue developing the game... and you're looking for some ambient easy going music, contact me anytime :) -Mark

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice job.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very well done! Very impressive that you were even able to do just the graphics in 48 hours. (much less the music, and everything else)

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Well it is really impressive, so much work done in only 48hours. I got lost in the cave but I loved the retro style (art+music). Because I didn't manage to get further I couldn't enjoy the whole strategic aspect of the game, but I kept me entertained for quite long so congrats !

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09pm

The graphics were done in about 6-7 hours, I managed to be very economical with them. I suspect that will be the most important thing I learned this Ludum Dare. Be economical with resources if you have a big concept.

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26pm

All around outstanding.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Absolutely love the graphics! Very fun too! AWESOME Job for 48 hours

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

A nice old school gameboy-style rpg, brilliant!
I love the graphics, and the style.
And it's made in GameMaker! GM:Studio buddies! :D

Very nice indeed!

foumart says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:05am

This game is so awesome that I can't believe it :0 I ended up in a endless battle where my only alive character and the enemy ware healing each other :) Consider making the dialog with the villagers on button press - now I have to slalom pretty accurately to move through without spawning them.

JaJ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:12am

Thanks everyone! I'm thinking about swapping the "skip" command for a standard, weaker "fight" command so there is always a way to deal some damage. Dialog on button press is something that takes 10 minutes to add max, but it's 10 minutes I didn't expect to have, and didn't end up having. I definately want to have that in the game though!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

This is a very well made game. I'm shocked that you were able to make it in 48 hours.

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

Oh wow, A+ job on graphics and music. This game makes me nostalgic :) The only problem I had is that when you die the whole game restarts.

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20am

The game was very deep, with a lot of content. Excellent mechanics, graphics, animations, etc.

JaJ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20am

You can save at the Inn though.

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Such a good game, i really liked it :D I just spent a hard time figuring out which character would deal damage to an enemy, and which one could heal this ally, etc... Graphics rocks, musics are awesome!

PS : i managed to beat the final boss without life orbs but with the help of the bug causing the monsters to attack their allies :D

JaJ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:09pm

It's not a bug! Enemies may attack each other. What IS a bug is that they sometimes attack absolutely nothing. If I had the time I would have made the enemies more intelligent.

The idea is that a fire attack will heal a fire aligned partymember, but someone with a fire attack isn't necesarily aligned with fire. It's like this:

Class Gift Alignment
Dark hero Dark Light
Fire hero Fire Light
Ice hero Ice Light
Bishop/ Cleric Light Light
Lightblade Neutral Light
Duskblade Neutral Dark
Fireling Fire Fire
Frostling Ice Ice

So for example: A fire hero can heal a fireling, but a fireling cannot heal a fire hero, you need a bishop or cleric for that.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I love the feel of the game, and the idea is very interesting, kinda Pokemon-esque. Could definitely be explored further. Inspiring to me to try a small RPG next time :)

MyFrosch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Wow. Good Job!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Loved it! Nice job on the graphics.

CarbonCoder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:22am

Amazing art! Amazing music! Amazing game!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:49am

This is really impressive, well done. It is possible to get stuck in an infinite healing battle though if your last characters type matches the enemy. Although you can just refresh the page if that happens.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31am

sweet work! graphics and music are top notch. The battle felt a little repetitive but overall great game. It is even fun just to walk around and not do anything :)

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I liked the graphics and the overall feel, but I'd improve the speed of the fights. After a time the slow animations get a little annoying

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:14am

I really, really liked this. The pixel art is so nostalgic and it was a lot of fun. Great job!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35am

Fantastic job! Love the audacity of doing a FF style game in 48 hours. Graphically looks like a gameboy game, and the music was great.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice RPG, and good way to integrate the theme into a familiar genre. The Game Boy-style graphics and music are impressive.

I did run into some issues during battle--when party members began dying, enemies would sometimes target themselves, and when I got down to one party member combat locked up.

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:11am

Awesome graphics. Congrats!

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:52am

Classical cool little RPG. The retro palette is throwing us back to the golden age of video game, and so is the global atmosphere of this game!
I would only reproach too linear dungeons and battles (it's basically always the same fights in long and "boring" corridors).
Great job!

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:01am

A bit tough to keep all the types straight, but I love these kinds of games. Good job!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very nice! I almost cried as I longed for my gameboy :( Nice delivery. Though in the dungeoun of trials enemy parties just popped out randomly, even in the places that we pass, which makes healing a must, which is not explained clearly. I several times healed my ooze enemies and killed my hero as I mistakenlu thought he was dark instead he only had dark magic but was light himself. (Or herself?) But a very nice game, really enjoyed it.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:55am

How did you extract the source from a .gmk file? Can somebody tell me how to do so and what to download?

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Totally fantastic. I really love the gameboy-ish graphics and music :)
There is a good amount of walking around in the beginning because you don't know exactly where to go, there should be abit more direction.
But I really liked the simplicity of the fight system :)
Kudos, I'm gonna save the link to play through entirely later :)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Wonderful game. Only a problem in the web version: the first time I tried the game, I walked into the inn and couldn't exit from. The program continued to say my party was healed. But I really appreciate it: wondeful game.

plaguespark says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:36pm

When 3rd and 4th party members are dead, the 4th mob attacks itself <_<

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Super fine job in duplicating the look and feel of a GB era RPG! A heck of a lot of work given it was completed for the compo. Nice work!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Wow great art style it was great and the gameplay was done well too.

runvs says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I really love the graphics! It took me some runs to choose a decent party. Nice one!

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Probably best use of theme and overally one of the best entries - there's almost nothing negative I could say about it which is rare me being the bit nitpicker.
Didn't finish, too sleepy now, but it's the first entry I've bookmarked for later play.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Incredible accomplishment for 48 hours. I actually didn't believe it until I watched the timelapse video.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:30pm

wow, so cool and classic feeling! great graphics and game play

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:34pm

All my doods died within a short time. But I will play again. The writing is really great. I hope its an intentional parody. It must be. Yes. It is.

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:49pm

My god. These graphics and gameplay are amazing. There is so much nostalgia that its starting to hurt. Well done mate. Very well done!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Wow. Simply amazing! Graphics are really great, sound is right on, and you're right: this game manages to be interesting even in its simplicity. I'm really happy that the Game Boy aesthetic is back in fashion.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:48am

Great atmosphere (:

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:50am

We are surprised too! :O Outstanding graphics, music and gameplay, I <3 GB games and this reminds me of my all time fav Mystic Quest! Excellent entry!! I would defi buy a complete version ;)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Found the secret island! This is lovely!!! Thank you for making it! Top marks

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Style of this game is awesome! Good job!

Knighty says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:15am

I really had fun playing this. Graphics and music were good and fit together well. I like how "Moon" became a healer in the final battle.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Wonderful game and amazing accomplishment for compo entry! Great art and music! Also the battle mechanic is interesting.
I'm not a fan of Zelda-like games, but yours is a perfect creation and deserves highest ratings. Respect!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very ambitious for an LD! The graphics are fantastic!

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Super Amazing entry! Loved every aspect of it, but especially the graphics and music! You are super talented!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

This. is. Awesome. I love the sprite work, and the old gameboy style. It all fits together.

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

a very nice game, love it :) thanks for this one!

taocayo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I think of all the games I've played I spent the most time on this one. Very good tribute to classics while spicing the now worn mechanics of old JRPGs. I had to restart a couple of times due to choosing lineups that made the game so hard that I don't think were winnable even with all the health upgrades.

The humor is good while not getting in the way. The music is downright perfect for this type of game and the mood also gets extra points. I'm starting to think this could pass as a Gameboy rom! and this is a 48 hour comp entry? wow

jerombd says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Great entry! Amazing music, and the graphics are good too. I'm not a big fan of this kind of RPG (many random battles, light storyline) so I don't have spent hours on this one but this is cool anyway thanks to the original "gift" system!
I wish I could make so much content in 48h^^

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Awesome art and amazing amount of content for 48hrs - excellent entry!

van noctar says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:23am

Good job! It's like pokemon :p

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]