December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

boom

by J - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 2-player battle with mines, where each player can throw any number of dummy mines and only one real one. However, one player's 'real' mine is a dud, and neither player knows which. I'm not sure how well this works...

A player can detonate all of his mines at any time, and can use lasers 3 times to destroy (without detonating) every placed mine.

The game ends once the real mine has been detonated or destroyed, and the winner is the player left alive, if any. If both players are alive, the player who had the real mine loses.

You probably want to use a controller for this.

Known bugs:
- mines don't orient themselves immediately when landing on the ground
- players can jump in the air after walking off a platform
- after falling off the bottom of a wall, players continue to fall slowly, and can wall jump, until they move away from the wall
- there seems to be a fairly bad memory leak

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#528Innovation2.86
#568Audio2.37
#584Theme2.71
#733Graphics2.45
#779Fun2.43
#828Mood2.24
#881Overall2.48
#998Coolness48%

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I don't have another player, so can't rate this.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Wouldn't run cause it was corrupt.

ajfischer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

This is really hard for people to rate due to the multiplayer nature of the game. However, I played vs myself using keyboard and a controller. I really liked the concept. It'd be pretty cool on a console with couch multiplayer or network multiplayer on computer. You should add more and polish it up!

hnjslater says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Once I'd installed the deps I could get it to run but not anything to happen. Can it be played with a keyboard?

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

I got an extraction error, couldn't copy some libogg.dll file.

abeing says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

extraction error on my side, too

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13am

Quite simple, but I found the player a bit hard to control.

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17am

Hmm, never had these sorts of errors before. Anyone having problems, it'd be nice if you posted your OS, exact error messages/behaviour, etc..

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21am

Oh, wait, never mind - the actual archive is broken? I was thinking extraction of things in the exe. Seems I accidentally used LZMA, which some ZIP decompressors don't support. I'll try to get that fixed.

@hnjslater: since you're trying to install dependencies, I'm assuming you're not on Windows, so details would still be nice. Thanks.

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25am

There we go, using DEFLATE now. Sorry for the issues.

Moist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08am

The player movement is a bit weird (I mean jumping). A very interesting take on the theme though.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Quite original and one of the best interpretations of the theme I've seen so far. The only thing I'm not too happy about are the controls (keyboard controls at least) and that there's only that one (even asymmetrical! :O) map. Other than that - very well done!

J says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Yep, hence the encouragement to use a controller. If you can think of a better keyboard-only layout, please let me know.

The map was the last thing I did - I would've like to have included more.

Joror says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Basic multiplayer, but I can see the concept. Tried playing both at once and kinda failed. ;)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Jumping seems a bit off, but i enjoyed laying mines

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I like the thought, didn't have anyone to play against though. But it looks like it has some potential.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

We liked the idea. Seems a bit buggy though (but you already know that :P). The area feels a little small for the mechanic.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55am

Nicely done audio.. even it's like somebody trying to play drums totally drunk :-D. Also liked how mines could be sticked to the walls...

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Nice entry, played with a friends.
The movement is a bit imprecise :&

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:51am

Nice take on the theme, pretty hilarious to play with a friend, would like to see a bigger map to play around on, and maybe coloured mines? Good job anyway!

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:36pm

It looks nice but its a bit difficult to play. Deffinatly an interesting idea though. Maybe with a bit more time you could develop it more.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

It was an interesting concept, but the gameplay could use some polish though as others have mentioned :P. The keyboard layout took some getting used to, but it worked pretty well in the end.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Nice game, bit hard to play but cool. Sadly it wont record with fraps so I as unable to include it in my LD28 compilation video series :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]