December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

U-OGO

by Darkcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take to the high seas in your U-Boat (the U-OGO) and blow everything up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#238Overall3.34
#245Fun3.26
#312Innovation3.18
#314Mood3.03
#335Graphics3.24
#339Humor2.62
#359Audio2.78
#936Theme1.92

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Cool game, good realization.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I really like this, great to see an underwater game. Excellent!

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22am

I liked it. Sunk a few ships. My computer runs some of these unity games a bit slow unfortunately, but it was still pretty good.

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25am

This game is awesome! I really like how the ship bobs in the water, the movement just feels good.

My suggestion would be to make the mouse rotate regardless of holding down the RMB, I found it awkward in battle to keep rotating using the RMB and shooting with the LMB. Also, if you continue this project, PLEASE keep the sound effects, they are great!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28am

really nice game design, the only thing i didnt get is how the theme is represented in here, apart from boats name. Exploding ships though, was very satisfying. Sounds and physics were good.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32am

Really juicy and feels really nice to play/control. Must have been hard to get the bououounyouncy to feel right, but you did a great job at it.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

Neat! It had a lovely aesthetic to it, and the gameplay was pretty fun too! The controls were a bit weird though!

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:00pm

There aren't enough games set in the water!

Nice minimalist, almost impressionist interpretation of a U Boat :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Very cool game, the ship controls feel really nice, how they bob in the water. The pacing feels right. Nice entry!

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Well done. Fun gameplay, great graphics, neat buoyancy physics.
I would like an easier/cheaper way to heal between levels, but over all it's a great entry.

Keep up the good work!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52am

Took a lil bit to get used to the controls and to figure out what the aim of the game was, but I kind of liked it overall.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Nice to see this kind of game on LD28 :) Good realization !

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26am

Very cool game. Loved the water physics.
Not really sure how the theme relates though.
Liked it a lot though!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:29am

Great game! Good idea the shop! Nice Mood!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:56am

Amazing, I bet if was really hard to simulate that well the water, the sound effects were my favorite thing. Pretty fun! good job

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Water is gorgeous, and I like the boats and subs too. Game is hard though, only way I found to succeed was to drive backwards on the surface while zoomed all the way out shooting. I guess you can't shoot underwater?

Was a bit confused to die because I ran out of air too, seems like a weird limitation for a sub :P

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:02pm

The physic is really wonderfull! I like the underwater management, and submarine sounds! I created for an last projects a same type of sound. It's not easy! Good job for this work! :D

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:10pm

It would be very enjoyable if it was ever so slightly more fast paced, dying seemed rather slow. I quite enjoyed realizing what I had to do, and upgrade systems are always fun :D

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice game, I liked it!

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I remember playing this game in development stage. It is really interesting game and kept me playing for like 20 minutes (which is great for LD entries). It is awesome game, Just can't see the theme connection. Yet you get 5/5 for overall. :)

shatley123 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:14am

Really interesting game. The u-boat controls great. I don't really get how it goes with the them though?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]