December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Powerless

by DragonSix - Jam Entry

//==================================================
Patched Version: ending the day back to your house actually works now.
//===========================

A city under martial law, every able habitant gets only ONE ration per day, but this ration is so meagre that everyone is starving anyway.
You get only one per day at the distribution camp, but it doesnt mean everyone plays nice. Protect your food and even steal it from others. Try to come back with as many rations as possible and make your family survive the day.

*------------------------------------------*

Arrows to move.
Press E to pick food (at the distribution desk up north or on the floor)
Press R to hit someone.

Press E to enter your house and end the day.


*------------------------------------------*

I patched a few bugs and added the ability to end the game afterward. It misses many features I wanted, but it's still a fun experiment. You can see how the AI reacts and enjoy the friendly atmosphere of this dictatorial city.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)3.93
#33Theme(Jam)3.75
#110Graphics(Jam)3.94
#114Innovation(Jam)3.31
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#469Fun(Jam)2.25
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Phyyl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

Very nice graphics, but is there a goal? can we win?

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

You ought continue working on this. It looks very shiny and has potential.

DragonSix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01am

No you can't, the blue door was supposed to be usable, alas it isn't.

DragonSix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

Yes bsowers, I'll be doing a few enhancements off-contest and post it here. I wont give it more than an additional day, but it should be enough to make it feel more like a game.

DragonSix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05am

So instead of adding anything big, I simply fixed a few bugs and enabled the game to be ended (by pressing E on the blue door).
There is no additional gameplay added, so I think it's still good for the jam. Sorry about the inconvenience.

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44am

Love the mood, and the take on the theme, but not really getting the gameplay element.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Wow what a great sombre mood for a game. given some better character models and scenery, and of course audio, this is the start of something that could be really great.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:12am

I like this game. I can feel the atmosphere even there's no music. There's potential in this game.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22am

Ahh I felt angry when they stole my food! Great mood! I like the pushing animation.

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57am

nice animations and graphics overall. I felt kinda bullied when everybody started following me, cool feels!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19am

Nice take on the theme!
There are a lot of movement bugs with the A.I. though. And I would've really liked to hit the soldiers. :P

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23am

nice gfx! no sound? i like the idea but i think game is missing win / lose feature to be complete

dkilford says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:50am

Good work, I'll give some feedback on what it feels happened with the game.

Keeping the world smaller would have given you more time to get the other important things done asap. I personally would have coloured the lights blue/white to keep within your grim colour pallete, them being green just looks a bit off. I would have also turned the unlit light colour to be much darker, and to counteract it I would have changed the unity web window to be black as well, so the contrast isn't so strong.

Your game has the strongest mood/ambience I've felt in the games I've rated so far, and I genuinely felt tension/pressure as I was being chased by the AI. Awesome work with that.

Great work getting the models/animations done in such a short space of time as well, it's not something many people could have done given the strong time constraints.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Great atmosphere and potential. :)

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:55am

Very good graphics, I like it. But don't understand the goal..and I was stuck between people)

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

For some reason I'm getting the error:

"Unity Web Player requires DX9 level graphics card. Make sure you have graphics card drivers installed."

dxdiag.exe tells me I'm running DirectX 11...

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:23pm

They stole my ration goddamit! Well, that was very funny. I also tried to steal food from somebody but with no success. Gimme full version of that!

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:18am

Great Job! Next time I would suggest exporting a Linux build as well since you used Unity.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]