December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1111 pt 1

by madjackmcmad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In AD 1111, war was beginning!

I decided on a more literal take on "You only get one", and this space shooter was a result. Working on a roguelike has been my full time job lately, so wanted to stray as far away from that theme as possible.

No sound, unfortunately, which mars the experience considerably. Still, you can play the game to completion, so if you like goofy space monsters, numbers, and shit flying everywhere, give 1111 pt 1 a spin.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#7Fun4.03
#15Theme4.11
#57Overall3.78
#97Humor3.43
#167Innovation3.46
#244Graphics3.45
#312Mood3.04
#793Audio1.27

Comments

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Literal interpretation :D

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

This was really fun. I love how many different ship configurations there were. I'll be passing this one on for friends to play.

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Great work... so much fun playing this.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

It was fun! I can only imagine how much more fun it'd be with audio :(. I loved the space graphics and the names of your source code directories! The only thing besides audio would be if I could just hold down spacebar instead of press it for every shot (only because I'm lazy!). Great job!

Tym0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

woah intense! the game is really fun. love the ending.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

1ception O-O

hahaha, very cool

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

That was pretty sweet. Sound would have just been icing on top of a pretty solid entry. It was fun, I was engaged, and never got bored.

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

had a good laugh

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Rated for humor because of the source code directory structure. :)

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

great game, but is it on purpose that you can change ships on buttons 2-9?

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

@tiffi That was a debug feature left in the game. Harmless though, and hey if someone is really enjoying the game they can have some extra fun with it.

Nessic says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

that, was awesome.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Super fun, very creative, awesome use of theme.

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28am

Really fun to play, kept me playing till the end =D

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41am

Really nice! Hectic but really fun gameplay. Always kept me interested. Really nice work!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47am

Really fun stuff, An the graphics were nice.

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Odd, for sure, but certainly entertaining. I rarely play these all the way through to the end, but the different forms kept me at it.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49pm

HAHAHAHAHA! I was cracking up and rolling all over the place when I played this. It actually made it harder because it was so hilarious! Absolutely fantastic!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I love it! Not only literal interpretation but amazing playability, difficulty curve, controls and graphics. I loved how insane the ship design got each time you are upgraded.

syawqy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

this is awesomeeee!!!!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Excellent use of the theme; I wish it had sound! :(

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Well balanced to make things seem like they're getting out of hand while still making it relatively easy. Really fun game!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Can't play windows games, which is sad, because this looks awesome.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Wow this game was really fun and a nice little literal take on the theme. The ship was little too hard to control for my taste but the gameplay kept me playing on its merit alone.

lekochen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44am

Awesome! It is just FUN!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:58am

HA! I love the humor (all 1's in the Star Wars looking logo). This was a lot of fun. Turned into a crazy Jeff Minter style shooter by the end. Good stuff.

BNeutral says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Best take on the theme.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Really cool take on theme I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/gDU0zbWgNj8

Kid1227 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:19pm

This was awesome! Hilariously literal interpretation meets amazing space-ship shooter gameplay with awesome enemies sprite-art! And it was actually fun to play!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Great interpretation of the theme.

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:18am

The game most fit theme in the another way I ever seen lol.
This is really fun, very enajoyable!
Good job :D

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:15am

Wow, this was brilliant. Very easy to win, unfortunately, but I really enjoyed the concept and the mathy-ness of it. One of my favorites so far.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]