December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gaea

by bach - Jam Entry

Gaea is an atmospheric little game that builds a unique galaxy every time you play it. Mine as many triangles from the planets as you can before the galaxy dies and literally never exists again. The more triangles you mine, the better the upgrades to improve your mining speed. (See last screenshot for what the upgrades do)

My focus was on creating an interesting atmosphere, with a minimalistic yet somehow fascinating game mechanic. The galaxy is generated via a Julia set fractal. Each system procedurally generates a little soundtrack (best enjoyed with headphones). You get to see and hear a galaxy generated from a fractal. The game is meant as a bit of a sarcastic look at our consumerism.

The game needs JAVA to run. On Windows and OS/X you should be able to just double click to run. On linux you might have to run it from cmd line ("java -jar gaea.jar"). I will try and put a web version of the game up once I get a free minute to do so.

POST YOUR SCORES!

Controls
********
Everything is controlled with the mouse

LMB: Zoom to system / Mine planet
RMB/ESC-key: Show galaxy

Move mouse over triangles to collect them.

Credits
********
This game was created with libgdx in under 72hrs by Stefan Bachmann

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Innovation(Jam)4.05
#16Mood(Jam)4.06
#28Overall(Jam)3.90
#69Audio(Jam)3.61
#78Fun(Jam)3.48
#144Graphics(Jam)3.78
#352Theme(Jam)2.51
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

embero says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35am

Tris: 887
Planets: 463
Systems: 0
Clicks: 696

I like this idea and it's well done.
Controls feel smooth, music and sound are nice too.
+1

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40am

It's difficult to understand what's going on at the beginning so some additional instructions + keybindings would help a lot. But other than that great work! Really nice feel.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Triangles: Mother F*cking 7258
Sytems 1!!!!
planets 1214
clicks 522

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

15000 triangles, and 5 systems
Now I've got triangle eyes... this is awesome!!!!!!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Great Game!!!!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice game, I got 86k triangles :D

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

After some minutes of learning the game without any instructions it's really nice to play and challenging ( for me it is!)
Reminds me on cookieclicker a little, but that's nothing bad. I like those games where you get more and more and more... this way even I can live my megalomania :D

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Really cool ideas for this game. I love what you did here and I love the game. You're awesome

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:50pm

This entry was awesome! *_* I wasn't expecting the nuke to literally... destroy the planet! :D

Fervir says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Amazing atmosphere!
I had to play a second time because it was so relaxing to play!
Love this game, great job!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:16pm

That was awesome! Loved the puzzle aspect and the minimalistic visuals.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:44am

Triangles: 34,841
Planets: 2662
Systems: 6
Clicks: 387

And after playing for a solid half an hour I think I need a surgeon to take a look at my clicking hand!

Seriously though this is really really good! Took me a while to figure out how to play, but once I did I was hooked. Very nice use of colour, a powerful message subtly portrayed, anything with fractals is cool in my books, and it's fun and compelling to keep playing (even if your finger is hurting!). One of the best I've rated yet - great work! :)

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:16am

This is one of the best games in this LD.

bach says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

@everyone: Thanks for playing! Good to hear you enjoyed this :)

Photon says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

A bit of a click-a-thon, but surprisingly atmospheric and actually kind of cool. Wonderful.

Managore says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

Great idea for a game! After many attempts I managed to get 389506 triangles, 5579 planets and 10 systems!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

How do people get so many triangles o_O. I got 2677 on my last try :/. But great game! I'll definitely play it a lot more. Also would love to see this on android or something.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:37pm

First looks and clicks, I was far from convinced.
Then I had a look to the screenshot with instructions and the game became totally addictive.

Great cohesion between graphics and sounds, you succeed in creating a unique atmosphere.

Djoron says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

He, really nice.
Triangles: 92355
Systems: 3073
Planets: 5
Clicks: 420

After the first run so far. This is quite fun, good job. :3
I'll give it some more shots for sure.

Djoron says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:55pm

How did I get that many Triangles the first time. .___.
Can't seem to get over 30-40k now. ^^

Oh well, still, really nice little game you made there.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

Wow, hard to get better. Great game! Great atmosphere! Libgdx rulez!

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

It reminds me of cookie clicker lol.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

great feel to this game and i love the deeper message!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Very engaging and innovative gameplay. I love that the color scheme changed every time you received a new galaxy (though some of the color schemes made it difficult to read). Great game!

larb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Awesome entry. I enjoyed it more when I had enough workers and let them do everything, instead of clicking like a maniac.

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:46pm

This game is awesome! It kept me playing for about half an hour, it's not easy to play with a trackpad, I'll try again tomorrow with a mouse. After many attemps I managed to destroy one system!!! Really addictive and relaxing, I had so much fun playing it! :D

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:41pm

288069
I really wish the galaxy didn't end and I could clear out the whole thing. It would also be really cool if I could have my automated guys keep collecting while I'm in a different system.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]