December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Try to fly

by kill0u - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press M to toggle sound ON/OFF

-----------------------------
Collect coins to protect yourself
If you fall, you will lose all your coins, or die if you had none.

Hold your up and down arrows to fly or dive.
But beware, your wings are quite limited and consume coins upon usage.

Your friends will help you. Hit them harder for a bigger boost.
-----------------------------


I chose the font wrong, "o" and "q" look exactly the same, no punctuation, etc. x_x Sorry.

I updated the game :
- You can now use space at the game over screen to try again
- I added "inline" to some functions to increase performance
All next updates will happen to a separate version (post compo).

Update 2: Added a 1200px wide version (against 800px for initial release); available as a different link.

Tips:
- Use your down arrow to hit blobs harder, your speed boost will be much bigger
- Blobs give a speed boost related to their color: green < blue < purple < orange

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#178Graphics3.66
#205Humor3.05
#351Audio2.80
#377Fun3.03
#414Overall3.11
#511Mood2.73
#756Theme2.42
#825Innovation2.34

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

I love it, Great work.

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

My god that's addicting. I couldn't fly in the end, loved the turncoat "friends" that make fun of you when you die. It's like... a real life "life" simulator.

Carduus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41am

Browesome pour nous les hommes

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

Man, I am really good at this game!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

That was really slick! Great work!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01am

Pretty cool!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47am

Was a bit confused at first but got the hang of it after a minute. Cool game! Nice art style, addictive play and nice sound.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38am

It was nice, though controls didn't feel too much effective :) I was mostly on my friends' backs but they were awesome... Until I crashed :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I like the graphics! So polished! :D

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Awesome! very nice work, really. I like the graphics and concept.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Cute graphics and a really nice sense of humor! The game was a bit slow for me for whatever reason though.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

I think I just got violated :) Funny game!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Very funny, nice game.

kill0u says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Wow, thank you guys for your comments!

@windwalkerranger: well I agree that controls don't feel effective, but when used in a certain way it can give you so much speed.. ;) (well actually I think I can reach a speed my computer wouldn't let me play this game at xD)

@kyyrma: aw, sorry about that. I think I will port this game to android soon, so I may have to make a light version
for some smartphones.. I'd release it to flash too if needed.
I can still do many optimizations too, I haven't inlined many functions O_o

dudsen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I really suck at flying, thats for sure :( The guys at the bottom think the same :D
A bit like tiny wings on acid ^-^

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Great game, with excellent graphics. A little too hard...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

The graphics are nice. I had some trouble learning how the wings worked since I stated off so far off the screen that it was difficult to figure out their effect.

Timing the bounces was a little tricky and seemed to be more luck than skill, but maybe with more play it would become easier to control.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41pm

At first I thought I needed to flap the wings by alternating up and down.

After I got over that, it was fun!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Very good graphics, thanks for enjoy!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Pretty cool, nice graphics.
The screen size was a tad too small though.
Well made entry!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02pm

4763. Cool game.

kill0u says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Thanks again guys :)

@TobiasNL:
I just added a 1200px wide version (against 800px for initial release); available as a different link : http://klabz.org/trytofly

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Really great game! Reminds me of a mix of Burrito Bison and Jetpack Joyride, although I think there were too many friends too land on, I was able to just sit there and watch myself bounce for about 2000 meters

tgnass says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

Had a fun time with it, good job!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58am

fun. I liked the comments from your "friends"

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

Made me think a bit of Nanaca Crash. Good stuff.

I gotta say, though, the 9/11 thing (where you crash through the Twin Towers made out of coins) was kinda tasteless, though.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25am

The animations are cute and polished, but I felt that it was difficult to tell when to 'fly' and when to 'dive'

dqmhose says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51am

Pretty nice! Hard to control though, maybe I just suck at it. Feels so random to me, still I can't stop playing :D

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Very nice game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Fun, but mindless.
Interesting ideas in game mechanic =)

noethis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Cool idea--would've been a lot better if my avatar wasn't offscreen most the time. :) Also a bit hard to time landing on your friends sometimes (compared to something like Tiny Wings where you can anticipate the grade of the hill).

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Sorry, but somehow, I doesn't seem like I can change anything in that game: if I do something, the player junps, but if I do nothing, he does, too. I think stat's kinda boring :/

havana24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Fun and well executed! :)

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

It seems i am really good at this game! nice graphics, widescreen in awesome

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I suck at this game. Great polish and finish on it, found it a little tough to know what difference I was making to the outcome though.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Good graphics, nice sounds, feels polished. Maybe it's a little to fast paced for me.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Its fun when you figure it out after a bit. I like the graphics too.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I really liked it! :D
Very addicting. I've loved the graphics and sound.The fun mood is great too. Great job :D

If you have time rate my game too! :) I would really appreciate it. :D

syawqy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:46am

look solid

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:13am

I really liked it, make me chuckle. wish I could have aimed the cannon but other than that it was great!

Gnux says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:58am

Sweet!

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Really fun ! :)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I like how your friends cheer for you and boost you.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I can bounce a lot without anticipate the crash at first (because there is A LOT of friends) then you die and your friends trash you, ahah.

It's not a totally original idea, but it's fun and pretty well done, so good job.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:16am

Neat little game. Reminded me a lot of Jetpack Joyride. I wished the camera zoomed out when the character went offscreen, so I could line up the next jump.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Bit confusing on the start as I was unsure how to fly.. But I figured it out.. Good simple game :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]