December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Go Blub

by Dry Tree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When playing Fish Go Blub you only get one button to control the character (hint: try rhythmically holding then releasing a key). You avoid obstacles and collect stars as you steer a fish around a series of increasingly challenging aquatic levels.

I used libgdx & eclipse, Paint.net, bfxr, Autotracker.py, Audacity, Gimp, and Caustics Generator

The typeface is 'Big Bottom Cartoon Normal' by Karen B. Jones

With more time I would have created a user-friendly level editor to publish along with the game, made a nicer transition between levels / when restarting, sourced better music (no offence to the people behind autotracker.py - it's a great tool, but ... yeah - the game cries out for better music), I'd re-do the fish animation from scratch, improve the collision detection code, make the rendering more efficient, add bubble particle effects and ambient sounds, add some variety to the grass and stone paving tiles, add floating lilies (just as eye-candy), and with a lot more time I would have made a longer series of levels with a less punishing learning curve! I'd also like to see the online high scores working on the Android and gwt releases.


Thanks for reading :)


P.S. A note to other theme voters: I had a lot of fun with this Ludum Dare - as always! But can we PLEASE try to avoid 'scope limiting' themes next time?! "Minimalism" (like "Minimalist" a few years before), "Tiny World", "10 Seconds", "You Only Get One" ... sure there are varied and interesting ways to interpret these themes, but nevertheless I feel the pattern is getting boring! Where are the themes like "gigantic" or "endless journey" or "decades go by" and so on? Or for that matter, where are the other 99% of themes which have nothing to do with scope? All of the 2013 themes have been 'little themes', we're like a stuck record! Maybe it's because people are scared that they will only be able to create a 'little game' over the course of the weekend? But that's sort of the point and there's no need to blunt the theme because of it! Anyway, I don't want to end on a downer; like I say Ludum Dare is always a lot of fun - it's a brilliant and engaging event with a great community behind it. Thanks everyone :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#259Innovation3.27
#268Overall3.29
#285Audio2.92
#351Humor2.59
#365Fun3.05
#398Mood2.91
#409Theme3.05
#436Graphics3.05

Comments

sirival says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:53am

At first I couldn't get how to control the fish, but after I got it it got really cool :) Good job

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Good job, and I agree with you 100% with the recent themes (I only entered this week end, but I4ve been watching colleagues on LD for years).

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35am

I genuinely cannot tell if I find the controls infuriating or pleasantly different

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I genuinely love the controls, it was frustrating at first but once you've got your head around them it really helps to make you feel like a fish... dunno why... :P

Good work!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Fine game, controls are sadly kinda annoying. But nontheless a nice game.

To you theme note, I kinda liked the previous theme since a good theme has to be restrictive. Nobody is forced to create a small game out of it. This time nobody stops you from creating a massive RPG about the journey to find the ONE, like seven seasons of HIMYM. Just my humble opinion, though.

PS: Please give the Android build a nice name :)

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Yes, the controls seem a bit weird. But after tryng out a bit, it's really nice. Graphics are nice, but there isn't a great variety (beach levels, river levels would have been interesting.)

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:19am

Very nice that you've been able to keep the app so small.worked perfectly on my phone.
It looks very polished and the game mechanic isn't annoying(I expected that difficult steering would be).
I agree with the music. Something nice and polished would go better with the game, but I'm still impressed.
Although I agree with your thoughts about the theme I have no idea what to do about it. It's a majority vote (and actually I'm pretty pleased with what I came up with, it challenged me even more to think outside the box).

And you're game is still very good :)

Dyn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really nice one.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Great idea. The controls are SO difficult, I guess I have more resprect for fish now :D

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:27am

Nice game, it's hard to control the fish at first, the levels are nice too. Great game! :)

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Awesome idea and game :)

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Loved it. but little hard to control it !

anvoz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:10am

Levels cleared: 3/6. I played it on Windows - smooth and beautiful. I think you should give the fish some HP instead of letting it die instantly.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Really enjoyed the controls! I also couldn't stop playing, despite being hung up on level 3.

joekinley says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Gaaah that stupid level 3. I gave up after like 50 tries. Few times i just died right in front of the last star. This is ridiculous.
Though a nice job. The music is cute, the graphics are fine, the game feels okay, it's just soooo frustrating when you keep dying.

larb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Agreed about level 3 (or 4?), it's a huge difficulty wall. Can't stop trying... but also, can't pass it.

Really like the use of the theme. Good entry.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:30am

First time I have problems with controls, but... Great job! Controls is different, and it's good. The game sucked me ;p
Android version is cool too ;)
And Android gameplay is better than PC ( just touch screen, and fish will go ) :>

And I agree Your note about Ludum Dare ;)

multikorv says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:51am

Really good! I like the idea and it's a solid implementation.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:56am

This was really fun! Good amount of challenge, although it definitely scaled up a bit abruptly (that last level was incredibly difficult). Nice graphics, nice audio - everything felt really polished. The Android version of this really works well, the controls are incredibly responsive.

StMatn says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Nice game!
Please take a look at the highscore table! The deathcounter does not reset, wher you play again after submiting your score! That made my last run the worst, while it would be the best :( Well, I wont pull the rating down for that ;)

In my first playthrough I have spent quite some time in the seaurchin labyrinth. Therefor I found the background extremely iritating after some time. I began to see only a combination of sharp and blurry rings... Maybe a slower playback of the animation and/or some variation would help with that.

Besides that, I really enjoyed the game! The graphics are nice (when you don't stare at the BG too long;)) and the sound is quite fitting. The gameplay was a bit tricky at first, because the controlsheme needs a little bit of practice, but afterwards its challenging and fun.
Great work! Keep it on :)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

Oops! Sorry about that, I've now edited the scores database by hand to show your correct position at the top of the highscores table :)

ashen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Enjoyed the one control mechanic once I got the hang of it. The water graphics were well done, are they voronoi patterns? Good game overall.

frogcheese says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I love one-button games, and yours is pretty well-made! It's a simple mechanic, but with a bit more polish and flair you could probably churn out a full game around it.

atombrot says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:55am

Nice game. The background music is a bit cheesy, but still very catchy... After the third level it started getting hard ;)

Kohijin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Simple but clever concept very nicely executed. I strongly disagree with your opinion about "minimalist" themes though. I think you're interpreting the themes to literal, because (to me) your examples for "bigger" themes do not imply bigger scope of the actual game design and vice versa.

saulopz says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:55am

a crazy fish and a fun game. I liked it. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]