December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

First Impressions

by Norgg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your handshake is everything, you live and die by it. After all, there's but one chance to make a good first impression.

Progress through life, trying to impress those you meet by shaking their hand as long, as firmly and as strongly as they like.

Controls:
Any key: Progress through life/Adjust firmness of grip
Mouse: Move arm
Finish a handshake by holding your hand still.

A gentle-person's only hat is sacred, but much desired.

Walkthrough: http://www.wikihow.com/Have-an-Effective-Handshake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#34Innovation3.97
#44Humor3.76
#114Fun3.52
#159Mood3.36
#179Overall3.45
#274Theme3.28
#342Audio2.81
#473Graphics2.97

Comments

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I have no idea, what I am doing :-) The game might need some extra explanation. I like the idea very much though, I give you five stars for innovation. Sometimes the game seems to glitch, as my "partner" flies off while still hanging on my hand.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Funny and self-explanatory :) i guess..

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

This was awesome, I miss my hat though :/

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15pm

5 for innovarion! Nice idea! I have 6000liras!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

What an awesome idea! xD

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

5 for innovarion! Nice idea! I have 6000liras!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Really fun concept! I also had the greatest bug ever, with both characters launching out of the screen like rockets :D Overall: Intense handshaking!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Difficult to work out the mechanics.

Good effort though.

Kane says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Funny little game!
The paradox error was the part that make me laught the most!

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Very fun and touching ! Great use of the theme.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Best hand shaking simulator I have ever played, hands down. The hat controls were a nice touch too. Only problem I had was I shook hands too well and ended the universe in a paradox. Good job!

JeeshusChrist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:23am

This was hilarious and very innovative! The sad faces are great.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:32am

It was pretty fun, but really glitchy! Some times I could not shake the other person's hand at all, or the camera would zoom in really close on the hands, but it would never start the shaking.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:51am

Whoa, you made a game about Mr. Shake Hands Man from Banzai! And it's hilarious! Great job!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Now I want to shake your hand. Very innovative and so fun. :)

Still I'm not sure I get the handshake mechanics right.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

great concept. I couldn't have come up with this :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very original idea, great hand shaking mechanic! x)

ryann says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:05am

If only shaking hands with a real person came with timer bars.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12am

Heh, I think I threw someone off the screen after he was unhappy? Or maybe that's what happens. Charming!

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Ha good fun! Mechanics/control need some explaining, but it was hilarious to simulate different shakes. And the silly walks.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:11am

the qwop of handshake sims

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I lol'd.

atombrot says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

haha :) very nice, I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]