December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Extinguished

by Jacic - Jam Entry

The forest is being burned to the ground by fiery demons! Two fire extinguishers must fight back as long as possible! One catch: You only get one health bar to share!

This is a two-player co-op game, but if you only get one actual player, it's even more of a challenge. Controls are explained in the "how to play" section of the main menu, but here they are again:
A/D Player1 move
S Player1 spray foam
Left/Right Player2 move
Down Player2 spray foam

This was my first time doing the jam instead of the compo, and I'm quite happy with the experience!

Tools used: Haxe, OpenFL, HaxePunk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#232Audio(Jam)3.00
#361Innovation(Jam)2.62
#363Fun(Jam)2.62
#367Overall(Jam)2.86
#415Graphics(Jam)2.65
#424Theme(Jam)2.30
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29am

I watched this game grow and the final result is really nice

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05am

doesn't stick to the theme very much... pretty nice, tho :)

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42am

Finefin is sorta right, but I played this game solo and felt like it can be intriguing that way too! Solid game, easy to pick up and play!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I had to play this by myself, but actually enjoyed the challenge of coordinating both hands to control the extinguishers. I thought the interpretation of the theme was quite unique - nice entry :)

glennbjr says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I read your tweet. I'm number five. Game is challenging if your one person playing as co-op ;) Nice game.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:04am

Nice entry. I liked sharing the health bar and the co-op nature of it.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:51am

Quite special use of the theme, liked it. Fun 2 player game to play alone ;)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Liked the co-op

kevinmylo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I didn't play with a partner and that's why it wasn't as fun as it was supposed to be. Good idea though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]