December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cardocalypse

by Shigor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Do not rate the enhanced version! But you're of course more then welcome to try it!)

Cardocalypse!

Once upon a time, in a galaxy far far away, there was a small kingdom inhabited by cards. Now the time for the final showdown has come! ONLY ONE card can remain at the end of the play! Which it will be? Wicked Witch? Wise King? Mighty Hero? All devouring plague? Or greedy bandit? YOU WILL DECIDE! There are 26 types of cards and in theory any can be the last card standing... although it might be pretty hard for a honest piece of iron.

Game was made in Unity under the influence of some stupid flu. OS/X build supposedly works. Linux build now should work too (I posted only the executable.... :)

Update: changed link to a webpage containing all the builds, added android version.

Update2: added "enhanced" version (links to original compo version still remain of course) - few minor changes to gui to improve readability of the text, button size for better tablet device playability and stuff like that - original game core was (yet) unchanged. For rating you should use the original version.

Update3: enhanced version is now really enhanced - there are some eye candies, hint effect to help you started (it marks cards you can use with the currently selected card) and the default card deck is now no longer randomly generated but rather fixed. Some more goodies to follow later when I'll have time, maybe even including a Versus mode...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#82Innovation3.71
#232Humor2.98
#305Audio2.87
#391Overall3.14
#436Fun2.94
#544Graphics2.84
#581Mood2.64
#640Theme2.61

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

Text was pretty hard to read on that background, but I really like what you have going here. I'll bookmark it so I can play it when I'm more awake :S

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

It seems like it could be a rather interesting game, but it goes on for too long. You may want to either add borders or background to all the text, as it can be difficult to read at times. Good job on finishing your game, regardless.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

I like the concept, but all of the card types being thrown at the player upfront makes for a long and hard to learn stack of information. With time + polish, slowly introducing the cards and interactions over the course of a tutorial, could make for a really interesting game. Not sure if it fits the theme that well, however, with a goal of one rather than "you only get one"

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Oh noes, stuck with two cards! But the sounds made me giggle quite a bit. :D

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very interesting. Fun, and surprisingly hard to actually clear, even though 90% of the gameplay is just messing with the system. I also have to compliment the sense of humor - I lost it at "magic, suckers."

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fun game, though i wish it was a little shorter. It kind of sucks to spend a significant time in a game only to realize that you can't possibly win :( Shorter games would alleviate that pain

Ongaku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

The game is very interesting, the problem is me being tired so I have to check it later. As andrewkennedy said, the text is hard to read on that background.

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

This was a fun concept, but I feel like the game threw me straight into "very hard" mode. A tutorial would have been very helpful, or some kind of strategy guide.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

Awesome! It takes quite some time to finish the game but it's really fun and makes you think.
You could improve the readability a bit by adding the outline to the text. Also it would be nice to have some visual indication that under the card there's another one.

Also btw the Mac standalone version works well.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47pm

You made that while sick? Amazeballs! That also explains the destructive power of The Plague! :) (which I defeated by feeding it hordes of useless peasants, mwahaha) Super concept, well executed. Consider fine-tuning the design and kickstarting a print run. Seriously.

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Ted Brown: you know... I never considered paper version (although it wouldn't be first paper game I'd made...)... thanks for the tip :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

Really cool game. I liked the voice overs.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56am

This shall stay on my tablet for a long time, nice work.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Kept me going...

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:26am

Interesting experience here alright. I haven't played anything like this before. Required a lot of thinking and analyzing on my part. Maybe I'm slow, but I found this to be pretty difficult.

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:00am

At first I didn't know what I was doing and didn't get very far. So many sheep!

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:55pm

An interesting game. However, it is a little bit hard to know what to do XD

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I love this game, also thank you for the improved version!!!

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:42pm

What a brilliant game! This is going in the replay-pile :)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This is probably the Ludum Dare game I've spent most time on ever. I loved the concept (And the sounds added to the fun lol) This is definitely the most fun game I've played in any dare! Very good job!!!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:20am

really enjoyed it. kind of like a cross between mahjong and triple town. would like an option with fewer cards, though--took me quite awhile to play through.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I don't quite get how I was supposed to destroy cards, but the sounds were funny enough to keep me playing for a while.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Really funny audio and I really like the concept. I felt the game went on for a bit too long though and it felt more random than strategic. Perhaps if new cards didn't spontaneously turn up, but empty spaces would remain behind? That way you could click on the deck to deal a new card if you get stuck in your journey to a one-card-only-board and have more of a chance to complete the game. :)

ocmu says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice, kinda like settlers of catan meets majong

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very fun and addicting little card game! I spent over an hour trying to beat it, to no avail :(

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Neat litte idea. As stated by others, it's pretty difficult to read the tutorial text at the start - a sans serif typeface would have been better, and on a darker background.

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:43am

Sean: even in the enhanced version?

lotusgame says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Interesting mechanics ! But hard to really have a a clear understanding of what to do. A fine progression in the learning curve seems necessary ;) Anyway, it's a good start. Well done !

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Finally! I have beaten it, with the almighty tool! >:D

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Ending with a honest hard working tool is something that should get a high praise!

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I like the art. It's kinda hard to understand the game, probably a short video tutorial would help? Text description doesn't really help to understand it.

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:55am

It's really surprised to see a complex card game at a game jam!
Well, I tried, but still have some cards remaining...
Pretty fun ,humor and hard! :D

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:03pm

@Shigor: The enhanced web version is a lot more readable. I guess it's still a wall of text. No real way around that :D

michail says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great idea! One of the most interesting games of this Ludum Dare.

van noctar says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great game! A very hard work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]