December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

little half squat

by omaha - Jam Entry

One chance to stomp some boxes and save the world.

Headphones are highly recommended.

Press space to jump.
Press space while jumping to stomp.
WASD/arrows to move.

a game by Alan McCosh and Lyell Evans.
http://whilesoftware.com
http://lyellevans.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#152Audio(Jam)3.26
#309Mood(Jam)2.79
#364Graphics(Jam)2.84
#508Fun(Jam)1.96
#510Innovation(Jam)2.04
#519Overall(Jam)2.24
#534Theme(Jam)1.71
#965Coolness49%

Comments

darwinpek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Animations were surprisingly good but the movement controls were a little frustrating and could have used more work.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I'd have be good to see some backstory and maybe a more challenging pace in my opinion. But the audio is pure gold, I really liked it and therefore the mood was very cool. I think it have some potential.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Not much challenge to this game - and I'm not entirely sure how it fits in with the theme. On the plus side, very nice music and sound effects! Kept me playing for quite a lot longer than I would have done otherwise, just listening to the music.

(Also, small bug report - when the character runs forwards, he follows the curvature of the planet, but when he runs backwards, he stays at his current height, and only drops down onto the planet when you let go of the down key. Just thought I'd mention!)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Great sound, look and animations. Very relaxing to play. Thanks!

FelixNemis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Interesting game. loved the sound, the animation was decent but the graphics need a lot of work. Also I'm not sure you are supposed to be able to go around the world, you can walk down the sides but the character goes out of the camera.
Didn't see the theme at all really.
Good luck and keep at it!

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31am

The audio is the best bit about this game, great result! Check GetButtonDown for jump instead of button state each frame because if you hold down the jump button it stomps forever.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:59am

Nice graphics and animation, the music was very good !

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58am

The jump control is failed, but the sounds and graphics are corrects! A little tutorial is welcome :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]