December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shopping Madness

by Mago - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Chrismas time is almost here and you forget to
buy gifts for your frends! The goal of the game
is to complete your shopping list before
time runs out.

To do so pick up a gift and bring it to the exit. But you can get ony one gift at a time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#219Humor3.00
#242Mood3.17
#349Graphics3.21
#427Innovation3.00
#463Audio2.59
#465Overall3.04
#471Fun2.89
#564Theme2.75

Comments

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:41am

The audio was a little annoying, and the speed of the enemies make it feel a bit unfair.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Great idea :) When I saw the title shopping madness, I instantly hoped it would be the kind of game you made and it was!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Idea is great, but it was a little bit annoying

KEFIR says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice idea! Gameplay is solid and fun (and funny!). I didn't managed to get all presents even once. Some presents just disappeared in the second after I saw them :(
By the way: I run it on linux and it works perfectly!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:53pm

We have very simmilar ideas :D Have a look... Like your artwork very much. Sound is okay for me ^^

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Great idea for a game and was quite fun. Nice idea having to fight for your presents!

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I like the audio, tho I turned it down to 4% in windows, so it's loud. I also encountered a bug where I jumped across aisles soon after picking up an item, tho it recovered fine. Otherwise it's a nice find-the-item game. Whether the amount of time is enough or not is sort of random tho. I don't really have a good solution on how to fix that... Still, I had fun.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Oh man! This should come with a trigger warning! Such anxiety. So race against time. wow. Fortunately, I won in the end.

Riilu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Decent game, although the randomization was too random, sometimes the item I needed never appeared.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Once I noticed that if you run right next to the walls you'll be able to avoid your clones, the main difficulty was in finding the correct gifts in time.
Solid game in terms of gameplay/graphics/audio.
I would classify it as a "horror" game, because that's how much I hate Christmas shopping.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51pm

It's a little too familiar for this time of year, haha! I had a lot of fun with it though. Great work!

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Is this the new horror game in the Amnesia series?

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:45pm

i like the premise of the game, interesting mechanic for sure. it would be nice to see the hero sprite have a different design than the other people in the shop.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Nice work. Fun, fast and hectic gameplay.

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:51pm

This game is very funny :D Good job!

jprogman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

The enemies are moving a bit too fast that I can't see the objects they are carrying. Also, the objects seem to disappear when I knock it off the enemy's head.

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice lil game. I think this could be expanded into a pretty solid mobile game.

Audio was... well. Bit annoying. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]