December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

yogo

by khahem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Eliminate all bots with a single bullet, avoid the lasers, reach the exit, complete the eleven levels.

Thanks for playing :)

Notes:
- Only tested on recent Chrome, Firefox (slow) and Safari, not enough time for IE or Opera, sorry.
- Rendering code is a bit slow, a very recent browser may help.
- I forgot to preload the assets, it's less than 500k but give it a few seconds if you have a slow connection.
- You can refresh or close the window and come back later, the game will remember your progression.
- Find the Bieber !

[edit]
- Postmortem here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/18/yogo-postmortem/
- Added missing polyfills, it now works in Opera but still very slow, like Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#52Overall3.79
#59Innovation3.79
#67Graphics4.00
#169Fun3.40
#179Mood3.32
#265Audio2.96
#396Theme3.09
#649Humor1.92

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

The level design is really clever! :)

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Very nice puzzler! I like the style of this and the gameplay is pretty deep.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16am

Innovative little puzzle game, and polished to a tee. I did die inexplicably once or twice, although it could have been from an unnoticed security bot.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

Really nice! I enjoyed the gameplay a lot and the visuals really added to the experience. Quick and easy to grasp too. Really good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Well done! I dig it. Good controls, challenging puzzles, good production values.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Nice! Looks quite polished and plays well.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Had quite a bit of fun playing. I wish you would teleport just by touching the right.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41am

wow, i really really like this. great game

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

The design is very elegant, love it.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17pm

I love the visuals!

0x0961h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Awesome puzzler! Don't dump it, it's a great project! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

nice puzzle! thought the one level with the spiral and two distant bots was maddening :)

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Great level design. One of the best I have played so far.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Cool game arts and sound. =)

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04pm

levels are the hardest part of making games, nicely done

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Loved the aesthetic. Fun game too.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice, looks really pollished and a nice idea.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:34am

Very well polished and good fundamentals.

ocmu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35am

Fun and clever! Loved it.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Love it. Really like the enemy-dragging mechanic. Visual design is really nice too.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Great puzzle game, feels like a very complete experience. Well done!

Madball says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Oh, I have a problem. The game is extremely slow. I'm using Firefox.
At first I thought: "Is the game lagging, or it's supposed to be so?" Well, looking at a gif in your postmortem, I guess the game is lagging.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Really nice game you made there.

khahem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:16pm

@Madball: Yeah I'm sorry about that, next time I'll try to check on multiple browsers during the LD instead of rushing compatability in the last hour.

@all: Thanks for all the positive feedback, it really means a lot to me :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Pretty good entry! Clever mechanics and great look!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:05pm

The graphics are simple and functional.
The sfx do what they're supposed to.
The level design is just genius.
The controls feels great.
The game is overall a LD masterpiece.

I gave you an overall 5/5 and an innovation 4/5.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Great audio and very nice graphics. Theme application made the game a little too difficult, but maybe I just suck at these kinds of games.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Wow, love it! So simple, cool mechanic, really fun! Well done sir.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22pm

The game ran fine on my browser (Chrome - Win8). The simple graphics are beautiful. Very fun.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:41pm

One of the best games I have tried! Great work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

nice puzzle game. I found it quite difficult. but it is fun! :D

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Great level design, simple yet effective graphic and music, and overall fun yet chilling :)

I don't know if the robots where supposed to go step by step when following me, but I surely used that to make it easier haha

khahem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Yes, they walk along the grid, only taking diagonals if available :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Nice and clean graphics, music would have been cool.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27pm

A very nice puzzlegame with simple but effective graphics and sound. Well done!

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:35am

So simplistic, yet soo much fun. Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]