December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Going Around

by daredevildave - Jam Entry

This is a point and click adventure. You only get one (game) hour to get all the things Ann needs to leave the house. It's based on video game radio show One Life Left (http://onelifeleft.com/)

This is a WebGL game and works well in Chrome, but seems to crash Firefox pretty reliably unfortunately :-(

Built using PlayCanvas.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#54Overall(Jam)3.75
#65Graphics(Jam)4.21
#101Humor(Jam)3.17
#105Fun(Jam)3.35
#105Audio(Jam)3.42
#109Innovation(Jam)3.33
#130Mood(Jam)3.33
#208Theme(Jam)2.95

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Wow ! Great music, Wonderful graphics, the animation are really well done. Great job !

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Oh potato, how I want to take you with me on my journeys!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Pretty neat! I loved the sounds and the modeling! (I don't know if this was a matter of time or decision, but I really enjoyed that all the models were very geometric.) It was fun to figure stuff out, except I never got past getting the phone to dry. It also would have been nice to get some kind of feedback when you hover over interactable items. Glad to see people take advantage of WebGL, too!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

DaredevilDave waves his game dev wand once more and brings a little magic into our lives. This is the awesomest game you've made EVAH.

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Wonderful walking animation and amazing graphics! Really had fun playing this!

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Really like the models, music and idea. Not seen this sort of thing in playcanvas before either :D

Yngar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:02am

Oh wow this is really cool and ambitious for a jam. You should work this code into a starter kit, I would absolutely love to make adventure games in PlayCanvas!

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

Impressive. The only bugs I got were getting hung up on door frames if approached too obliquely, and walking through the desk's surface.

sirival says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13am

It was refreshing to play an adventure game after so long. Well done Dave amazing work!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:25am

I really struggled to wake up that roomate, but I had fun trying.

A third-person camera and arrow keys for movement would have been nice too.

jackolondon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Wow oO

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30pm

The graphics are what make this. Absolutely fantastic low poly modelling. Great work!

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30pm

chill game, sometimes get stuck on corners etc though but ace

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Man this is different, and EPIC. I did get stuck in the table, but I got out again

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Great entry. Well done.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Glad to finally run across more adventure games. I really loved the look of this game. My only complaint is movement tends to be a bit difficult with pointing in 3D adventures, WASD would have been better, I think!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Nice work on the decor, lighting and ambiance.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Thanks everyone.

Philippa did all the artwork. Which is why it looks so amazing!

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Nice escape game. The controls are pretty good, and I really liked the low-poly graphics.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice low poly art style! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:40pm

you guys made all content in 72 hours?

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43pm

@01rafael The music was credited from elsewhere. Everything else was churned out starting on Saturday morning :-) It was a loooong weekend.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Well its a point and click game, and it works. Why re-invent the wheel?. Graphics are interesting. Was the blocky lack of smoothing groups a design choice? it works nevertheless.

As for the negatives: Lack of variation in the audio made it feel somewhat lacking. Some sound effects might have been nice.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Nice graphic, music and great models! My only advice is when transitioning between screens, put characters at a position so the player knows from which door or stair she came. Finished the game, was a fun challenge!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Really good entry, looks great, very innovative, very fun. a bit weird. But awesome either way

Kvisle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I think this entry has it all, really. I never figured out how to dry the phone, but I believe I figured out the rest. My feedback would mostly be about small user experience things, most of which has been mentioned by others.

Very good entry.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:07am

Pretty good game. The graphics are really good.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03am

I love point and click adventures and this one was amazing! I really like how realistic she felt as character the the funny solutions you had for every problem! amazing :)

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Wow, great game. The music was very nice, and the string of objects and interactions was very well planned and written. Lovely graphics, too!

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Good atmosphere! I love the graphics!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Fun game with some creative solutions, though I still can't get past the mighty Nibbles. Nice rendition of OAG too =P Great game!

atombrot says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Nice point and click. Sometimes it was a bit buggy (I only played the compo version though), but a cool idea to fit the theme and I had a good laugh with some of the puzzles (don't want to spoil ;) )

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Really good graphic style and camera POW, well made, clever and fun to play, animations were a little too slow.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

Funny game. It bugs me that Ann never returned Nibbles to his tank...

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:30am

Great little game, the music and graphics were super neat. Trying to work out out to dry the phone nearly had me tearing my hair out, but I managed it! :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:02pm

nice, but goal is not clear

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:39am

The graphics were a bit creepy for me, and I found myself not knowing what to do next a few times. It's, tho, a fantastic effort for 72 hours. Good job.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Amazing amount of content for the time available, very cohesive world and great characterisation - impressive tech as well ;)

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:34am

Amazing music and graphics!
Love the 3D adventure style :D

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Really lovely graphics. Not really sure what I was meant to be doing. One of the nicest WebGL games I'm come across though.

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

Wao! Cool graphics and sounds! I like that!

capnramses says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

i really enjoyed it. the music felt like it didn't fit and was just put in there to tick the music box in a hurry, but other than that i liked the rest of the game. interesting choice with the flat shading (alone in the dark style?) and webgl of course is a great idea for multi-platform. the only thing was when you leave a room it doesn't start you by the door that you came out of which is a bit disorienting but not a big deal.

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice graphics and animation. I also like that it's a 3D adventure game where you still 'point and click' instead of controlling the character directly (too many main stream 3D adventure game titles went down the awkward latter route for my liking!)

Static 64 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:21am

I wasn't sure exactly what to do, and the walking seemed very slow (not sure if that's the game or my computer). I liked the writing and graphics though, and the interface was nice for a point and click game like this. It was still fun to just look around.

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:46am

Wow mate, the art style - so adorable. Now I am also curious about the Playcanvas thing.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Great adventure game! I had fun figuring out how to get her out. I played a lot of these real life escape games, so I was pretty addicted to getting Ann out. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]