December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

There Can Be Only One

by ratboy2713 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

AKA The World Only Gets One

You are an immortal, and the Quickening is upon you. You must behead all others to become more powerful until you are the only one.

Requires Python and PyGame. Written and tested on Ubuntu, though should work on anything with python installed. Sorry Non-US keyboard layouts, didn't have time to make a control mapping screen.

This was my first time writing in python, let alone writing a game and with pygame.

Update: I used py2exe to create a windows executable. Run src/main.exe. I had to change a few things in order to make this run. I haven't tested how stable this is. If you have to you can use this, but it is preferable to run the script through python.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#426Humor2.39
#427Innovation3.00
#517Audio2.46
#570Fun2.76
#628Graphics2.68
#629Overall2.84
#656Theme2.59
#713Mood2.45

Comments

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

I like the character customization before the fight. Nice touch.

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Solid little game. Runs fine on my Windows 7 box btw.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Game seems a little random, but maybe there's some strategy I don't understand. It's almost more psychological than strategic. I had a hard time getting the timing/rhythm right, maybe some sound effect or music cue might have helped. Character customization is awesome.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31am

Pretty Solid.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

Wow, this was you first time writing in Python. Good job, man!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40am

hmmmm didnt seem to work for me. Not sure why. tried downloading it twice

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

First time on python O.o awesome that you made all this.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Its kinda weird but fun none the less. Works fine on win8.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22am

Haha! The world gets only one. May it be ME ME ME!
Awesome! Like the original Pirates and Defender of the Crown!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:13am

A very interesting take on the theme. Well Done

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Can't you somehow compile this? Would increase the number of ratings a lot.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:53am

Very interesting, I like the change of scenery which keeps rounds fresh. Mechanics taking some getting use to but a very good fighting game. well done!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I am glad I am not the only one to see this theme as an excuse to put highlander quotes in his game.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:00am

i like the graphics

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Wow for a first time in python, this is really impressive ! Nice work !

Orangy Tang says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Wouldn't run here, due to missing pygame dependancy. You'd probably get more reviews if you packaged it in a way that runs easily with all dependancies included.

Zhrack says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Very nice one!

Raphy says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I can't play this it seems... Sorry :/

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:28am

Nice idea, sort of iterated rock paper scissors. There could be more feedback about what move the opponent is doing, what the right counter is, and who won when the round is over.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]