December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Code Tower

by madmaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a tile matching game where you enter small programs (mostly mathematical formulas) using Polish notation.

Probably best you watch me play it on Youtube before you play as it's kind of hard to pick up, but feel free to read the instructions below...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AN_LyMZCOgU

If you're not familiar with Polish notation you might want to read up on it, but basically it means the operator goes first (instead of in the middle). For example

+ 1 2 = 1 + 2 = 3
+ 1 * 2 3 = 1 + (2 * 3) = 7
- - 1 2 3 = (1 - 2) - 3 = -4

The benefit is that precedence is implicit (no brackets) which is necessary for the game to work. The down side is that it's pretty hard to read. The game tries to help you enter valid expressions by colour coding your selection.

Green = section OK
Red = section missing parameters
Purple = extra parameters
Dark gray = invalid parameter

Longer chains of operations should, on average, yield rarer operators in the replacement tiles. The operators should be reasonably familiar, but just in case

+ 2 parameters, adds them together
- 2 parameters, subtracts the second one from the first
* 2 parameters, multiplies them together
++ one parameter, adds one to it
-- one parameter, subtracts one from it
acc one parameter, adds the parameter to the current score
tim one parameter, adds the parameter to the remaining time

Finally it's only really tested in Chrome (it's HTML5), but I have had some promising results in Android and iOS browsers.

Oooh comments! First of all, thanks for playing. Some people seem to be missing a couple of the nuances, which is understandable because the learning curve is vertical
1) You can build equations in any direction (not just left to right)
2) The first level (you only get One(s)) only gives you plus's and ones, variety increases on later levels (which are always unlocked). The first three levels are really just training levels.
3) It's a word play on the theme, because the only number you ever get fall from the top is 1 (you only get one - although this is technically untrue as you can also get zeros)
4) There is no ending or win condition as such, although the last 3 levels do have an end as they are timed. Would have liked to have a high-score server or something, but it didn't happen
5) I think RPN is short for Reverse Polish Notation, this only uses Polish Notation (so PN?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#5Innovation4.30
#212Overall3.38
#356Theme3.14
#414Audio2.68
#446Fun2.93
#641Mood2.56
#674Graphics2.58

Comments

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44am

Well presented but I have no idea what was going on!

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52am

Oh! pretty clever game. Took me some time to get used to the notation

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:56am

Interesting concept, more games should espouse the wonders of RPN =P I was only ever able to get + signs and ever increasing values. This was even after getting every tile on the board connected in a single equation, I'm assuming that's a bug. Anyways, good job going in a different direction than most.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

The mechanic is well implemented; when you get a few good ones in a row it feels very satisfying, but the presentation doesn't give quite enough context for players unfamiliar with polish notation. The nature of polish notation means that operators on the right side of the board are unusable, which makes it tough to keep a streak going. Still, by far the most fun I've had with polish notation, and a more than worthwhile experience.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01am

I like that it's given fun to Polish notation, great job! Well adapted for a table or smartphone. The first (highlighted)gameplay didn't work for me, couldn't do anything. The Accumaltors were working and were great fun! Thanks for the game! :)

ErikU says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05am

High learning curve and hard to get the hang of, but once you do it's actually quite a fun game. Finished the second category with a score over 8000. Innovative concept

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Fun game! I'm not familiar with Polish notation, but I learned quick. This is really a lot of fun :)

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08am

Very unique puzzle game, never seen anything like it. I also learned Polish notation through it as well. Cool!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

you feel so epic when you manage to get a huge combo :P pretty fun, how does it go with the theme however?

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Once you understand what id does - it becomes a pretty cool game!

pLaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Oh now I got it :D
I didn't rate your game until now, because I didn't understand what's going on. But now I understand it, and it's a pretty cool idea.

So you need to add numbers by starting at an operator and dragging your term across the field (like in Wurdle). The result appears at your starting position and new values/opoerators fall from the top. I like that :) This is actually a good game for mobile devices.

Suggestion: you could limit the number of turns to add an chalange or add a time limit.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04am

Worked really, really well on ipad. A pretty innovative puzzle game! And taught me Polish notation, which is pretty awesome. Would definitely play if it was on the App Store, good job! :)

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:40am

After a few tries I got it. But I've found no "end"? Otherwise nice little game that uses a lot of brain. :)

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36am

Hard to get used to the notation. Still working on figuring it out, but finally getting somewhere. Interesting take on match games.

TheSnide says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38am

Brilliant idea, thanks !

[ spent way too much time on it already ]

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13pm

My beautiful RPN tarnished by being featured in a mobile-y game! Nooo!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Fantastic idea. This'll get your brain going

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Whaaaaou... I started playing this like... 2hours ago ! This is so good and addictive ! Good job... Also it's too easy to do humongoose score. I've made more than 550 000 000 with my first try.

SamH says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21am

I reached 1.0392591322777107e+42 before it got really boring :) It’s a nice time waster and it could become interesting with built-in challenges, such as bonuses for long sequences, reach a million in less than 5 minutes, or try to make the value 42 appear on the board…

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:54am

I liked it! It's a bit obscure because of the Polish notation, but I really liked it! Good job!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:57am

Really cool. Certainly the most innovative game I played, and probably the longest game I played. I thought with the first level the game would be easy, but then I played the other levels, and the challenge went up to the right level. I very good puzzle game, I'm glad I got to play it.

ashen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:44pm

This is a really original idea and use of the theme. I've used RPN on a HP calculator previously so the mechanics were fun from the start. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]