December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Open Forest

by koller-digital - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're lost in a giant open forest. Luckily you come across a lot of other adventurer. But they all are really stubborn. All you get is one favor you can ask them and they will do this. And that's the only thing they will do.

You need Java 7 and a minimum desktop resolution of 1280x720 to play this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#335Innovation3.14
#517Graphics2.90
#586Fun2.74
#590Overall2.90
#649Humor1.92
#664Theme2.58
#677Mood2.50
#811Audio1.12

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Pretty cool, other adventurers help but I get overrun as the game progresses

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Very good! I cam across some lag, but it's acceptable with JAVA. I love the graphics, and the game is addictive! Suits the theme very well! The only thing is that I got confused with 20+ people, but I guess that's only my limited amount of brain capacity :S :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

Fun game that have quite a cool mechanic. I love how they work independently after assignments and so on! :)

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

I experienced some lag. Getting too many people is confusing.

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35am

Cool concept. I experience a lot of lag when looking around also. Overall a neat game, though.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

This is awesome! Great job on this. The beasts really multiply fast though.

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18am

The concept is great, however I've gotten some lag.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

I likes the concept a lot! But I got overrun by enemies at some point. The game could have used some music.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24am

Unfortunately quite unresponsive on my mac, but I think the idea is really cool!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

Interesting idea and nice graphics. I'd rather see the tutorial text slide off the top of the screen, not the right-hand side, it seemed to take forever waiting for it to slide out and the next one to slide in! I got overrun with monsters in the end, but I didn't experience any lag at all (like a lot of other commenters have said)

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Interesting concept! :D I like the graphics too.

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Now that's a lotta monsters... Interesting idea! :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20pm

This looks so coooool! But it won't open for some reason :( OSX 10.8.5

Below I've provided the error message in hopes that it will help!

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Open_Forest/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Open_Forest.jar
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice but short. Even I was able to fight monsters, they won in the end..

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29am

Couldn't get a single adventurer to kill a monster, and I never saw any huts. Interesting concept though.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:24am

well nice game, i love the adventure game, but the lag mad me sad :( after all its a cool game :D

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32am

Loved this entry. Loved the concept. Is a pity it's so short.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:21am

Cool game. Was good considering it was made in 48 hours.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:31am

Concept is interesting! However, none of my adventurers managed to kill a beast, they all got scared and died.!

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Too many instructions!!

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33am

It has depth. It's a sort of turn-based strategy mixed with a game of life.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Very interesting concept, but it would have been nice if the game explained how to kill a monster. And I never saw a hut either. =/
But I got to say, I quite like the visual style of the game.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Well, the idea was very neat and interesting. Had fun playing this. My only complaint would be that the woodcutters kept destroying the huts :S
Did manage to kill some animals, but after that it felt pretty incomplete. I'd like to see this idea developed further, though.

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Cool idea!
It would be great, if you mentioned, that animals die after a time. I was always spamming woodcutters to cut down many trees, let them get killed by animals, wait till animals are dead, spam builders, let them get killed, wait for animals to die...
Then it ended with filing the houses with poeple who soon would also die :(
Is there a way to maintain a more or less stable world?

Ala in all pretty nice and well executed strategy game. Maybe farmers would be good in this;)

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I couldnt' plant the tree(And I don't know is it good for theme "You only get one".. But the graphics and Idea is very good)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:14am

Was having fun with it, but then I pressed and held space for a bit too long (4-5 seconds... it was overrun with enemies by that point anyway haha), and it locked up my computer. Might be worth looking into lol.
Otherwise, a fun game :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:58am

i love the concept! But it was quite laggy for me :(

jarnik says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:47am

Great concept, had 10 minutes of solid fun!
Over time, my city got flooded with wild animals, but the initial construction and appearance of new options felt pretty great! Thanks for making the game!

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good concept. I got run down by a lot of animals :)

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:41pm

wow, a lot to make in 48 hours, congrats! it was a little slow for me, not sure why as not many games are slow on my machine

Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nice simulation! I got some troubles getting the hunters at first. I was clicking at the huts to provide hunters, but instead normal adventurers appeared and they were scared of the animals. Then I made huts far away of the animals and getting hunters worked there. Anyway, good job!

JohnnySix says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:12am

This was really cool, if a little confusing at first. I should've read the text at the top at first. It's fun watching time sped up and the deforestation and wild beasts chasing down the poor adventurers. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]