December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Ball

by DavidErosa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There! A little game about only getting one ball for playing as a child! Play a friendly football match versus your friend or the AI, but be careful not to lose the ball! There are 4 zones where you can try to recover the ball if it goes away. Good luck!

PLAYERS
- Single player VS AI.
- Two players on keyboard and/or gamepads.

CONTROLS
Controls can be changed within the configuration dialog on the startup screen. The game will use one or two gamepads if connected. I only tested with one XBox360 gamepad on Windows, but should work on other systems and with other gamepads.

* First player: Cursors for movement and jumping, 'M' for kicking. Or gamepad #1.
* Second player: 'A' and 'D' for movement, 'W' for jumping, 'C' for kicking. Or gamepad #2.

For fome reason, the webplayer uses the yellow 'Y' button (XBox360 controller) instead of the X button... Please test every button before complaining! :D

I had a lot of fun making this game, I really hope you enjoy it!

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#202Innovation3.39
#221Fun3.31
#283Theme3.26
#291Humor2.78
#420Overall3.10
#461Audio2.60
#537Graphics2.86
#634Mood2.57

Comments

Tatooine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:51am

Muy, muy adictivo compañero. La verdad que es un resultado bastante bueno, me gusta ¡Enhorabuena!

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

¡Gran trabajo, David! Pronto estará por aquí el nuestro... :)

dcjav1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17am

Original, divertido y muy adictivo. !Buen trabajo y felicidades! :)

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very good game. It's hard at start but after two or three try, it's fine.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Que gran idea David. ;)

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Gran juego compañero 5 estrellitas en divertido :D

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Cool game. I wasn't sure what I had to do at the start but it was fun when I knew what to do.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Great ball game! And that's said from someone who really doesn't care for soccer ;) great job on the AI too! One of my favorits!

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:39am

Why do I have to get the ball when the AI shoots it outside :p
But a good game

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52am

@robhor: Because it wouldn't be fair if the AI failed to get the ball :) Also, didn't have the time ;)

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38am

One put a spike trap hidden in a bush in a children's playground?!?!?

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:05am

Best graphics ever! Ball is impressively bouncy.

dray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:10am

Nice Game, i only played against AI who can't stop loosing the ball. I really like the idea and i think that the game can be really fun with a friend. like the music and the art was full of little animation.

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:11am

It's fun, but the controls are a bit hard to manage precisely.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Interesting idea!

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Whoa, I like this! The handwritten style is cool, but sometimes hard to read. The part of retrieving the ball not only fits the theme well, but also reminds me of a child play. The spike are comparable to a street with fast cars, where children get into risk to retrieve their ball. I will try to play this with my friend!

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Great little game and an original concept :) I love the art style but I agree with above that the writing is a bit hard to read at times.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very fun, but also very frustrating! Those fucking spikes!

van noctar says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:18pm

I like this game! Very addictive!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]