December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Equals 1

by netguy204 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Create a sequence of numbers and operators that add up to 1. You only get points for 1's so plan ahead and make those tiles count!

Note: The HTML5 build requires Chrome or Firefox with WebGL enabled. The web build is pretty good but you will have the best possible experience if you use the native build instead. For example: Music doesn't loop properly in the web build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Theme3.52
#176Innovation3.44
#328Audio2.83
#366Overall3.17
#389Fun3.00
#779Graphics2.33
#791Mood2.31
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

nice work. it would be perfect as a mobile/casual or even edu-tainment game

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice idea! Nice music!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I never would have guessed that a literal interpretation of the theme would yield something so playable! Nice Job.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Nice puzzles. the indicator of the current value is really helpful.

The music doesn't loop for me.

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Awesome! Tons of fun. Would definitely be good as a mobile game.

Royal Railway says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

This was fun! I like games like this. Not entirely sure if your interpretation of the theme is one that I would consider okay, but it yielded a great game nonetheless. The music stopped playing for me, I'm afraid to confirm too. Graphics did what they should, but some pretty backgrounds would've been a nice touch. All in all, average, but I would definitely play this on my phone for fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:23am

Great idea! Needs some polish, but very well done.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Seems that this was an idea forced to fit the theme, and it suffers for it. I'm having issues with the music cutting out. There aren't really any graphics to speak of.

I guess it is as fun as doing basic addition and subtraction can be?

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56am

The music didn't loop in the web version (didn't try the native.) Which is a shame, it has fantastic music! Like said, this is totally a great little mobile game. You should keep working on it and make it an app or something :D

Eniko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Pretty decent game, interesting take on the theme! Took me a while to figure out how the rotation thing worked. Also I wish there was a button to reset the level cause I kept figuring out I was doing it wrong way before the end and had to sit out the rest to reset.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Woo nice :) My game has the same "make it sum 1" take on the theme, but I see you have been much more far, this is very cool to have this path of calculation :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Math!? Math! Maaaaaaath! @_____@

ovenchips says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Nice to see a decent puzzler! And an interesting use of WebGL too! Well done. :)

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:03am

Will be a PERFECT mobile game. specially with a educational tone.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Although it was short :( , I enjoyed it , you might consider publishing a more polished version on smartphones .

Xavier says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Omg! math! :D could be better and funniest to play as a mobile game :) the audio is so cute, but needed to improve the graphics.

anvoz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Nice idea and music.

After I finished the 4th or 5th level, I got back to the 1st one. So the game was quite short for me. Maybe it could be more fun if you add more operators like * or /.

About the level design, I think you shouldn't make a level with too much tiles. It's hard to predict anything when you have to play with more than 15 tiles so I just randomly chose thing until there's only a few tiles remain.

Jod says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Very clever! Love to see some more educational games in here. Would probably work well as a mobile/tablet app.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]