December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trick or Treat

by LastResortGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One house on the block gives out the best candy. But they only give out one to each trick or treater. So change into as many costumes as you can to trick them into giving you more.

Trade Candy with other Trick or Treaters to get their costume pieces.

WASD/Arrow Keys to move
E - Interact with Doors and Trick or Treat-ers
Q - Open/Close Inventory
Left Click - Change Costumes/Trade for Costumes

Downloads and Links




zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Nice little game. More complex than it looks... Those inventories ain't so easy to make. :) I also like that "imperfect" graphic style. Good job!

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Good game, It appears simple, but has alot more content than some of the other games that have pro-artists. You can tell you put alot of time into this.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Based on the simple art I assumed I could skip the instructions - I was wrong :D

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Really clever! I would have like seen this a little more polished (not graphics wise, but some of those inventories where a little clumsy as another mentioned). Good entry :)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Really like the idea and hand-drawn art

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Like the theme, couldn't get the costume to change though - was fun trading and trying to build a complete outfit. haha

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Simple cute game you have made I enjoyed it :P

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

I really liked the trading aspect of it. Made ya think on how to optimize how much candy you could get!

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13am

But I want moar candies D:

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

Can you make a standalone version of this for Windows for those of us that don't have the Unity plugin?

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I enjoyed this :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Great idea, well executed :) I got myself a system going where I'd change one part of my costume and then head back to the house and repeat. Satisfying progressing :D

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Nice idea, but the graphics look very paint-drawn. All the other categories get high ratings.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:10am

I like how you use the inventory.

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:57am

Handmake graphics should not not trick you: it is a quite complex game, much richer than it looks! congrats dude!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Cute game

miwuc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Cute little game, I really like the idea.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very clever idea. Good use of the theme as well. :)

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:07am

Cute concept, pretty complex game under the hood, nice job

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Good job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:16am

Good game, a lot of different variations. I like how you used the theme.

occash says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:54pm

As everybody-I also thought that it was simple game-how I was wrong!)))

Skoggy says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice and cute game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]