December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Destroy The Core

by StabAlarash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The evil Annilator Overlord want to delete the universe !!! You need to prevent him at all cost.
You're our last hope !!!

Post Compo Version: I fixed some of the problems you guys talked about in the comments, thanks for the feedback by the way :)
- Skippable intro
- The shooting seems to be better now
- Add a little portrait for the communication
- Auto fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Overall3.90
#38Fun3.79
#41Graphics4.14
#56Mood3.71
#106Audio3.40
#201Humor3.06
#356Innovation3.11
#545Theme2.79

Comments

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

My favorite game so far, it is very well executed, very smooth, i like the art. Not so much to say, spread the word!

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:49pm

So simple yet so addictive to play! I really like your graphics. Shooting seemed a bit off, didn't seem to hit anything :P I was avoiding everything like crazy!

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:51pm

This is very tough, but extremely good; well polished with fantastic audio/text, the tutorial is nice at the start but you should be able to skip it and go directly into the ship after dying. Amazing work! 5/5/5/4/5/5/5/5

Lyje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Fantastic! Love the graphics, especially the sparks particle emitter. Sound is great, gameplay is really fun (if hard!). The only thing I'd say is - skip the intro when you retry, because it's a bit frustrating waiting through it.

Manou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:15pm

5 stars

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Awesome game dude!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Love the com guy sound. My only criticism is that the intro is too long the second time I play it - it's the sort of game I'd like to keep retrying, but the length of the intro is a bit of a barrier.

Nice work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I feel like you're on my wavelength! Maybe we've been watching the same movies or something?

I wonder if you tied the rotation of the ship into the camera, you might get something different. I love the gabble speak and I especially love that our endings both tie into the same thing!

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice expansion on the endless runner genre. It gets tense very quick and the ship controls good :). Disliked having to go through the intro which didn't really add much

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Very well executed. The controls are neat ! The intro is soooo effective, with the entrance getting closer (at first we don't see it), with perfect timing.
Maybe a bit difficult, it's more fore experienced gamers.

Waynetron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Waiting out the tutorial after dying is sooo frustrating.

The controls feel great. That's my one big compliment. Just feels good mousing around, firing and rolling.

The chatter audio at the start also made me laugh out loud when I heard it the first time.

Arowx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Great little game. Keep working on this it's great! You might want to add camera roll when the ship turns, a way to speed up and slow down and a constant fire mode to save on the fingers.

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Very Very good. Great art, Great execution, great idea.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Wow, this is my favorite entry so far. Great polish, fun gameplay. I really love the Star Fox vibe with the art and sounds. Definitely make the intro skippable, though! And add a little portrait of the dude talking ;)

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:04pm

This ship blocks the view so it it hard to see sometimes what lies ahead. Otherwise super cool game!

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Wow. Amazing quality for a 48 hour jam!

The only thing that lets it down is that there's no checkpoint system, coupled with this huge intro at the start which means you effectively have a 30 second waiting time between goes.

Seriously impressed anyway though. Good work. :)

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nice work. I like how all of the graphics match in a low-poly cubist style. Even small things like the thruster fire.

The tunnel was less random than I was expecting.
The camera could be attached to the ship so the tunnel rolls instead.
I probably spent just as much time in the dialog as in the tunnel... respawn should be at tunnel entrance. I still liked the game enough to wait through it several times.

Overall a very nice job. Keep up the good work!

Manou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

5 stars

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Really nice job. Everything feels really responsive and smooth. Could have used a way to skip the introduction after you died every time, but other than that really solid game. Good job!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Absolutly fantastic, the gameplay was hard to grab at first but then it's just awesomeness. Fun and hard = enjoyable, the only thing i didn't like is the long intro especially if you die a few times.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Reminds me of the good old death star II attack :P
Great graphics and lighting! Movement was okay, but... the "crosshair" was quite useless - probably, because the camera was slightly pointing downwards. (as much as "down" exists in space) I'm not suggesting to put the camera right behind the ship, it would only block the view and you'd only see the engines, but adding a second crosshair at a different depth would make it easier to predict, where the shots are actually going :)
BTW, huge plus for the intro, especially the part, when you approach the entry point, and your headlights fade in :)

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

very tense and enjoyable, but a skip feature would be appreciated for the introduction. It's a bit lengthy when you just want to take another try.
still very cool, though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Wow ! Great work. our game is impressive ! The artwork, the difficulty, the gameplay, everything is right. Awesome !

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Great game, really intense. Reminds me of the last level of Starfox. Aiming seems a bit off though.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36pm

The dialog sound is very attractive

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42pm

The most thrilling entry so far. I got all of my senses put to the test there.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Awesome stuff. My only gripe is that the tutorial gets annoying after each time you die. Didn't pick up on much of the theme though...

midgard says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

WOW! It's just so cool, you surprised me that I opened my mouth at the start, so hyped!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I always like these kinds of games, and you did a really good job executing. Nice lighting effects and nice overall design. The controls weren't exactly what I wanted, but they were definitely usable. I really hope you take the time after LD to develop this further and add more polish.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Very fun and nice solid controls (though auto-fire would be nice). Very well done!

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Love the sound effects. Legendary.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Pretty fantastic.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:37pm

The only game so far to make me laugh - those ridiculous voices haha!

Extremely polished. Great gameplay (what my LD game should have been). Great job :)

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Very nice, gets really hard (especially on a touchpad)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Wow, graphics are stellar!
Game play is fun, and the concept was executed amazingly!
Very nice :)

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Pretty fun, the graphics were simple yet fun, and the gameplay was addicting. Veeeery difficult though.

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

cool

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Amazing.

firebelly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Well done. Looks great even without textures!

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Really fun. I would buy a full game like this. The cross-hair didn't seem to point to where I was going to fire, and that took a bit of getting use to.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Very fun!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

That was AWESOME! Reminded me of Rebel Assault for the playstation.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39am

Really cool, also really hard. I wish there were checkpoints but that's the theme right there.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31am

Pretty great but as others have mentioned the lengthy intro is really detrimental. Awesome graphics!

conormn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57am

Stellar effort!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

Interesting concept, nice visuals, good execution. I found aiming to be my only real complaint as it was extremely difficult to hit the enemies with such a short time to aim.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:19am

Nice effort! Silky smooth too. The sound is a little grating on the ears, but it's a minor complaint in an otherwise great LD entry.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:27am

Awesome! I used to bullseye womp rats in mt t-16 back home :D

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25am

Would have liked to have been able to skip the intro dialog after the first attempt, but great job! :)

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55am

Fun to play after mastering the controls :) Great job for the time frame!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26am

Checkpoints would be nice.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55am

I chuckled at the sound/dialog sequence. Nicely done on the idea of having the ship roll through tight corridors. I could barely get any enemies with the ship's lasers. (auto-aim would be nice) would love to try it out on gamepad/joystick. I do agree that a handful of folks here suggested on an optional skip of dialog or allow checkpoint at some hard-earned evasive action. nicely done!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38am

Excellent game, though shooting is hard. I liked the graphics and the smooth handling of the craft.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:23am

it doesn't stick very hard to the theme. but hey, who cares? it's a great looking game ;)

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33am

fun game, starfox style almost :)

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Great game, if a little too hard

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05pm

This game was excellent, but one fatal flaw ruined my experience. Excuse me if I go on about it a bit, but this has so much potential I feel I must.

The game is quite difficult, which would have been totally fine, except that every time I die I have to sit through an extremely long introduction all over again!

This is game-breaking.

I wanted to replay over and over, but I very quickly lost heart. I was there slamming buttons on my keyboard and mouse to skip the intro, but nothing seemed to work. It actually made me angry that I couldn't enjoy more of your game.

I suggest that no more than 4-5 seconds should stand between game over and the ship flying into the hole again. If it was me, I would have picked 2 seconds. I would have played easily 10x as long, but it felt like more than half my experience was the intro screen over and over. (Yes that means I suck at the game, but you didn't let me learn without brutal punishment.)

Other than this your game is totally awesome, with mood and sound and graphics and tight control and good difficulty all wrapped in a cool idea... I've rated it quite highly but your fun score did get a ding.

Additional minor points of feedback:

- I felt that my own ship blocked my view. This was never actually a problem, but I felt apprehensive that it would be one. Sometimes I rolled just to have a look around.

- Having to click again and again to shoot is a bit of a problem, since your game requires precision mouse control and hammering the button might introduce little inaccuracies in the movement control. But holding the button down to perma-fire the entire game is not appealing either. There must be some happy middle ground, such as firing 4 rapid shots with each click or something.

I hope that's not too much commentary. Great job, you have excellent craft.

StabAlarash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Thanks everyone for all of those comments. I'm currently working on a post comp version taking care of all the flaws you guys talked about.
Looking back on this, there's obviously a replayability issue I need to fix, I guess I was too tired at the end to notice that, or maybe too good at my own game I never died enough to notice ^^

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21pm

What an excellent game ! Wahou ! Some 5 stars here :)

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

The art is great, the audio is awesome (music especially, the "voice" gets a bit annoying/repetitive but is otherwise funny) and the gameplay is fun.
What I loved the most is the atmosphere. Overall - great work!

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Love it ! So much tension and mood !!

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Like others have said the introduction is too long if it's unskippable. Also I'm not sure how the theme fits in. Other than that, wonderful game!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24pm

That is a damn good game you have there.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice job. This is really nice!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21pm

marvelous game! :) on my top 3 list so far. great job! good luck!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Really well done!!!
But please, close the structure on the edges...
You can enter the core from outside! :D
BTW 9/10

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Holy shit really hard game. Only thing that i think could be improved is the shooting. Its really hard to get used to aiming. Maybe try moving the reticle up a little and making it smaller for more accuracy

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Loved this game! It was really challenging and made me want to play it over and over again. Needs a way to skip intro though.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Awesome, really enjoyed the ship controls. The voice sound was pretty funny as well.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48pm

great game.. especially for the time frame.. my only gripe is i die far too easily (prob my fault) and then have to go through all the talking and waiting each time (i liked it the first time tho ;p)

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Very cool game! I wish there was a button to ... oh ... I see you have already taken care of the skippable intro/tutorial issue. Awesome. I love the communications audio. Nice polish for a 48 hour entry.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35pm

The voice is amazing xD The graphics are epic and the gameplay is cool :)

nzgiije says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:35am

Cool :)

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Very nice game! It's a bit hard to actually hit something, but steering controls are well done!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Perfect compo entry!
My only complaint would be that the intro is too long for a retry. Otherwise, great graphics, responsive controls, and it was really fun!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Cool gameplay, cool graphics. Best assistant voice!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:07am

Reaaaally nice mechanics! And really nice voice instructions explaining! Simple but addictive! Really wonderful art!

nka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Very nice. Visual part reminds of retro space arcades style. Quite annoying that I have to wait until my ship approaches corridor each time after death. Very impressive work though!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:07am

nice! mouse sensitivity is great but I wish I could adjust the sensitivity of buttons A and D to my needs. I always end up pressing it for too long and crashing.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Wow really nice entry. I was amazed how well gameplay flow is. Really really amazing work!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very good graphics! The gameplay is very cool!!

Maple says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Great game! It reminded me of the Skyhook from Star Wars: Shadow of the Empire N64. Love it!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:26pm

wow, really awesome. love the graphics - great 3d work!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This is a really cool game! Kept playing for a while. My only frustration was aiming. You risk crashing on the ceiling when trying to shoot objects out of the way.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Really fun entry with unique gameplay. So many games are about shooting things, why not one about rotating around and dodging things? The intro is a bit long, though

Sebastian says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:20am

Brilliant!! Took me a couple of tries to save the universe ;)

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Excellent game. Smooth control. The graphics and sound are also really good. But the game was quite hard for me. I could not finish it.

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Great game with an awesome atmosphere, but really hard. Especially with mouse clicking, moving + keyboard controls. The post-compo version is much better, I like the intro skipping very much.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:25pm

mmphbmergller mugphgblerganer!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]