Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 28

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Will Die Alone At Sea - mcc - Jam Entry

You only have one minute.

View mcc's journal. | View all entries by mcc

Ratings

#87Mood(Jam)3.53
#159Audio(Jam)3.24
#163Innovation(Jam)3.18
#183Graphics(Jam)3.53
#243Theme(Jam)2.82
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#539Fun(Jam)1.67
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

mcc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

Notes:

- If you experience framerate problems, please see Readme.txt.

- The Windows zip was updated after the deadline. The game was not changed, however, a file which was present in the Mac version was originally accidentally omitted in the Windows version. This prevented the game from launching.

Kaslai says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

I found it interesting, but is there any win condition?

mcc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04am

It ends the same way every time.

mcc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:08am

[ Also, thanks :) ]

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11am

The single most intense moment I've ever experienced. Amazing.

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12am

I left the sea and ended up somewhere... beyond the sea. Good, or bad?

mcc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23am

Stvr, I went back and forth on whether to mention this, but I have to admit… this game is not supposed to have any controls!—other than the ability to look around by having the mouse. The movement controls are debug code that was supposed to have been compiled out in the release build and somehow wasn't. So um, if you want the experience I had originally planned, use only the mouse. But I don't think "what I originally planned" is all that important, and the movement controls are *there*, so you might as well use them and it's just a different kind of experience will happen, and some interesting things including the thing you saw might occur. Let's call this, um, "emergent"…?

mcc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23am

LUDUM DARE HAET UNICODE

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I thought the theme was interesting because one of the bugs left in my game was the ease to die at sea alone.

I liked the red wireframe look a lot. It kind of made me think of some alternate world where there was a diverse set of life expierience sims on the virtual boy

NiklasRiewald says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I really like the idea of a drowning simulator:D But the debug keys made me think that the game is broken..

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

mcc, don't worry about it! I tried it again without moving, and it was a very unique experience. The visuals and the sound are top-notch. Loved it. Also, a bit freaked out.

eli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48pm

The moment is chilling and resonates for a few good minutes after it's gone. Great style and delivery.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Didn't realise I shouldn't move, but the outcome is in a roundabout way the same regardless.
Interesting, and I like the visual style.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:21am

Wow this is intense !

y2bd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:14am

I honestly have to say, even though I saw it coming I totally did not see it coming. Good work.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:20am

FYI, I just (a couple days after end of LD) added a Linux version. It is the same as the others, all I did was recompile. It has been tested on a few different Ubuntus seemingly without problems. It may require you to install SDL, PortAudio, and FreeType in your package manager before running.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:24am

So uhh, can I play the game now.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:39am

Nice vector sea. Sound is noise pure... Idea is nice..

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:33am

Oh, yes, it's much more intense without controls. Quite an experience.

Gazok says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very jarring ending. Nicely done!

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Interesting.... although not really gamey enough for me...

it is LUDUM dare after all

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]