December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SingleTown

by elcow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been chosen as City Planner by the future mayor of SingleTown. Unfortunately, his campaign promises for low government expenditure and eliminating redundancy has put you in a difficult predicament: you are not allowed to put multiple of anything in the city!

Please run at 640x480.

Controls:
W, S: Switch object type (Buildings, Zones, Paths)
A, D: Switch object
Left click: Place object (Drag for Zones and Paths)
Right click: Cancel build (While holding left click) or Direct workers (Right click on Building/Zone that can be worked, or right click elsewhere to remove direction)
Escape: Go to start screen/quit

You can build only one of each object in your town. Building objects costs money, and in the case of Zones and Paths, the bigger or larger, the more they cost. Objects provide various benefits, such as creating workers for your town, or granting money or food when worked. Working typically reduces Morale slightly.

You city is a failure if your Morale or Food reaches zero, and some buildings will fail to function if you have no power.

Gain Points (pink stars) by sending workers to your Capitol building and by constructing the monument. Try to gain as many points as possible before your city collapses.


Known Bugs:
Placing all objects of one type (Buildings, Zones, or Paths) will cause the game to crash
Blocking off objects with Zones will cause the game to crash.
Path ends can't be built too close to Zones.
Pathfinding is very inefficient: avoid placing too many paths near each other, especially on top of each other.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#591Innovation2.77
#683Theme2.55
#782Graphics2.32
#868Overall2.50
#872Fun2.27
#875Mood2.11
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00am

Took a while to get the hang of it but otherwise interesting concept you have going here. Could use some ambient sound though.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15am

Very ambitious, very cool considering the scope. Good work!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14pm

It's an interesting concept. It's a little bit annoying that you can't place zones near eachother, so you can't make "realistic" looking towns :(

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20am

Fun city builder, it takes a bit to figure out how it works though.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22am

Interesting concept, mabye too ambitiuos. I miss some more instructions.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:45am

took me some time to figure out how things worked, but I liked it, got some potential if you refine it!

atombrot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:55am

I like the idea of the game, but I can't somehow find a way to get the city started. Or it just runs to slow. I don't know, but when I build a small village, like all one or two minutes a worker appears. I think that this game has potential for some fun, if you tweak some of the value (except if I'm gaming it wrong ;)) and put some better instructions into it.

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:34am

{ don't undearstand how to build(

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:58am

Neat take on the theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]