December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Direction

by hannardynamite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Based on the theme of 'You Only Get One', I came up with the idea of 'You only get one direction'. No, not the band.

You can only move in one direction. But be careful, there's nasty red projectiles out to get you!

Made with MMF2, Paint.net and Bosca Ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#165Theme3.50
#492Audio2.53
#597Humor2.00
#657Innovation2.66
#861Mood2.13
#889Overall2.47
#920Fun2.10
#928Graphics1.93

Comments

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:18am

I really like the idea is very original, the music is very 8 bit, and I think fit perfectly the game. You should just find a way to make more clear where you respawn once you reached the top, is very difficult to understand.

also R should make the game restard immediatly not bring you back to the main menu.

great game

Mezzenstein says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Yeah the game is pretty nice! I had fun playing it, but it's pretty hard if your position is near the borders.

607 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:10pm

It's a pretty hard game, it's only a bit weird where you'll get when you exit the screen via the top. I mean, I often died cause I got out of the screen and appeared somewhere in front of a red pixel.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:16pm

One Direction, the game!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:40am

I also found it quite difficult, until one retry I just held down the up button and fluked a score of 11!

I'd suggest maybe having the player respawn at the bottom of the screen each time, rather than a random Y position (still keep the random X position).

Good choice of music too.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:04pm

It's quite funny and demanding, I like it. Good work!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Interesting concept. But it was waaay too hard. Maybe enemies should move slower, at least at beginning?

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:57am

I think the projectiles are a bit too fast, considering how you move. It's basically impossible to react to them if you're off centre and it becomes a game of luck.

However, interesting execution of the one direction idea.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Took me a while to get the hang of it. It's one of those games I really suck at, but it's fun and challenging! :D

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The idea of putting scrolling bonus on top and the hypnotic bgm are good.

You should make sure people dont respawn on bullet. Death on the is game seems a bit unfair since you dont have time to avoid bullets even if you watch closely on the side walls. Things get worse if you respawn left or right because you have 0 second to react on incoming bullets.

x70x says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I think the main thing keeping me from replaying is how I can randomly be killed immediately after respawning. Interesting idea though.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Hardcore game is hardcore ! But the concept fit totally the theme. =)
The music is a bit repetitive and the mechanics hard to assimilate but innovating.
challenging game anyway !

stvr says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Well you fit the theme nicely, and having some kind of semi-random respawn mechanic is an interesting solution to problems inherent in unidirectional gameplay, but the unpredictability of spawns makes this far to frustrating and not enough fun.

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Seems very luck based, as others have said. But concept is interesting and has some potential to become a nice skill/reflex game. :)

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Nice use of theme. I found it very difficult to dodge as the red blocks move very fast and you can spawn on the side of the board where there is no way to dodge. I would also suggest a faster restart for the game by pressing "R" or space to take you right back into the game rather than the two buttons.

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:30am

The time you have to dodge the red balls is too small. Once when I reached the top I teleported somewhere where I got stuck and couldn't get hit. Nice idea for the theme.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:50am

I really liked the color scheme.

Novodantis says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:48am

Pretty inventive, but it is indeed rather hard. The random placement after going off the top of the screen makes it very hard to stay in control. I found the most success seemed to be had by holding down the button and hoping for the best. Sound was a definite plus; simple, but effective.

rezil says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:17am

The biggest issue was spawning randomly on the screen and not knowing whether you'd have enough time to avoid the projectiles or not. Otherwise it was alright.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:03am

The random respawn locations and speed of the enemies made this game feel nearly impossible. I did almost as well by just holding up and never letting go as I did by actually trying. Although, after a while I did somehow manage to get a score of 11. I liked the idea of it, it just needs something to help it not feel so aggravating, especially if you respawn on the far right of the screen.

Maybe if there were bars that moved left/right up/down on the edges of the screen to indicate your respawn position? That way, you could have an idea of where you would end up. That's what immediately comes ot my mind at least, not sure how well it would actually work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]