December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Otzi's Last Journey

by jomomomo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Otzi's Last Journey

You only get one... button (space).

You only get one... life (eep!).

Play through the last run of Otzi the Iceman, an ancient man discovered in the Alps between Austria and Italy.

Collect as many flowers as you can for Otzi to bring to his bride at the bottom of the mountain.

(Otzi should have an umlaut, but I can't seem to figure out how to include that in the name of the entry -> anyone have any suggestions? When I paste it in it looks like this: �tzi)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#322Mood3.02
#380Theme3.11
#426Humor2.39
#427Audio2.66
#483Graphics2.96
#610Innovation2.74
#697Overall2.77
#711Fun2.54

Comments

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nice work on the background graphics and on the running animation. Would have liked some more "control", as in often an arrow is still pretty far away but its too late to change the outcome. I also liked the reference to Otzi, you've come up with such a tragic interpretation. :)

bttf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Cool game, dig the music and the concept. Wish the game would restart quicker after dying ... Was able to get 7 flowers! I like the somber solemn attitude of the whole thing. Nice job

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Difficult but I still enjoyed it! The music was a soothing contrast to what was happening.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Deadly arrows, and no no escape from them. It's very difficult run and stay alive.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice little entry.

Took a while before I understood that I had to use space to move -- I thought space was only to start the game.

Pretty brutal game, really - that's a lot of arrows. I'd love to see who's chasing him. I had no chance at surviving more than 2-3 flowers, so I'm not sure if there's a win condition.

I remember an exchibition about Otzi in a museum near where I live - got disappointed when I could only see Otzi on a webcam though.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

If I had read the description properly, it wouldn't have taken me several tries to find out how to pick up the flowers...
Poor Ötzi, getting attacked by a whole battalion of archers.

record: 15 flowers

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52pm

A simple game with a simple storyline, the whole thing is almost minimalist in a way, but the execution makes it wholly fun and enjoyable. I found myself playing it over and over again, just trying to get more than two flowers. XD

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Do I suck at this, or is it possible that even if you hold space when an arrow appears, you're too slow to avoid it? :( I have collected 0 flowers so far. That makes me a sad panda.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53am

The game has a nice soundtrack and an interesting visual effect upon death, but the rest of the assets need some polishing; the art assets don't stand out muchand the death sound is kind of grating. It's also very difficult to estimate when to stop and start, and not being able to move backwards makes things all the harder.

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice concept but high difficulty.

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51pm

you could try, keep alt pressed and type 137 that gives the ascii: ë

not sure it will work on ludum though.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

A bit difficult, but nice work.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:12pm

A bit hard - I also keep getting hit by the first arrow as soon as the game starts

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I like the idea but I found it too hard to get more than about 3 flowers! Great concept and cool way to work in the story too.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I like the gameplay!! A good casual game!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:26pm

tough hard game i guess. Overdid the theme a bit

neekobus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33pm

GOOD : I like the setting. Good run animation. The one button action. The minimalism.
BAD : Too difficult ! Too slow (maybe he accelarate later ?), too small
IDEA : Double press on "space" to jump or boost ?

hbocao says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Nice art you have there, buddy. Nice setting too. And I think I got a high score!

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Great idea. I love it! :D

Yoni says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The first 3-4 tries I couldn't figure out how to move, and died after a few seconds. It is very unforgiving!
It would be better if you had a title saying "press space to move" and either give me grace-invincibility for a few seconds, or don't shoot arrows so quickly.

I got 15 flowers and died. Does the game continue the same way or does it get different? It would be more fun if it got gradually harder and of course if there was a possibility to win (I don't know if there is one)!

michail says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:36pm

After a lot of attempts I collected 10 flowers! I like the concept and the mood.
The difficulty could be a bit lower however, or progress smoothly as you run.

aeveis says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:06am

gameplay was interesting but very difficult. Maybe if the arrows were slower or you moved faster?

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:12am

Simple and addictive. Acceleration would be nice.

chiguireitor says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:46am

Nice music and mood. Loved the initial story and the control scheme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]