December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

At The Last Minute

by Scrapworks - Jam Entry

You Only Get One... Minute!

This game is really hard!
Can you beat our highscores?

Higscores:
Artist - 4413
Coder - 3472

Controls:
W - Jump
A - Move left
S - Fall through branch
D - Move right
Press Mouse1 - Shoot grappling hook 1
Press Mouse2 - Shoot grappling hook 2
Release Mouse1 - Destroy grappling hook 1
Release Mouse2 - Destroy grappling hook 2

For Linux users:
KEFIR: "I run it in Wine in Linux and it works just perfectly!"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#20Overall(Jam)3.98
#24Fun(Jam)3.87
#48Mood(Jam)3.74
#66Audio(Jam)3.64
#70Graphics(Jam)4.20
#114Innovation(Jam)3.31
#257Theme(Jam)2.78
#293Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38pm

One of the better games I've seen so far. The spikes could stand out a bit more, be a different color than the grass.

Halfire120 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Fantastic! loved the visual style, and loved the premise!
Gameplay got a little tedious after a while, but i blame that on not being able to see the spikes more than anything :P
Overall, VERY nice :D

backflipppp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52pm

pretty good! :D

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

This was a lot of fun! one of the better games I've played so far in fact!

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

I played it on a touchpad, so it was very hard, but AWESOME controls and feeling, I love how the char bounces at walls and you can goo all spidermanish over trees xD very fun!

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

My favourite game so far. Love the fast fluidity and the timer, game looks lovely and is a joy to play. You did super good!

sprawl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Loved the controls. I got stuck on the 3rd level, but this game is FUN.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Very good, very fun. Good feeling with the controls and the grappling hook works just great. Best entry so far.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice hook mechanic. Jumping is a little bit funky, though. It took me couple tries to understand yellow things were spikes :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19am

Played through once and already love it. The character could feel smoother and the spikes could stick out more, but other than that it felt nice to play.

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:24am

Like others have said, the spikes need to be much more visible in a fast-paced game like this one. Other than that, it's really, really good!

Rothens says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:53am

I love the gameplay. Very cool entry ;)

KEFIR says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Wow! The best entry in this LD so far! Very solid and really fun gameplay! Also I run it in Wine in Linux and it works just perfectly!

stenol says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Cool game :)

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I hate you!!!!! We don't have 1 minute! we have 55seconds!!! because of those shitty 5 white seconds at the end ! we know we lost, just show the lose screen not those 5 white seconds! seriously, your game is awesome, the best one for sure, love the art and the tight gameplay, the feel of the grapling hook. make multiple chapter, 1minute each and PLEASE remove those 5 white seconds and i'll not be only one to give you money.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Wow, this is a great entry! The grappling mechanic is really fun, and the audiovisual style is great. The only-one-minute thing is a bit unoriginal, but otherwise this is an excellent entry!

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:57am

Very interesting. Beautiful art. Nice mechanics. And very addictive. Great job on this one!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05pm

A lot of potential here, but rather frustrating since it's in window mode and the mouse isn't locked, hence I accidentally leave the window every few seconds. Also, next time without installer please. :P
But other than that it's really fantastic. Seems like a game with a few weeks of work put into. Nice art style and gameplay for sure!

01101101 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Like others pointed out, spikes are a bit too friendly looking, I didn't get what was happening at first.
The game is pretty hard indeed, but well done and very fun to play. Good job!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Pretty cool game, love the grappling hook! I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/mLdQN8xdVMY

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very nice! It seems, levels were tailored to hook and that gives a good amount of depth to it!

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Very good overall!

For improvements:

* As others have said, make the spikes stand out more.
* The time should reset to clear the level if you die. It's brutal to have to restart the level after you die and have not enough time to possibly clear the level.

Overall a great effort!

kibertoad says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:10pm

it reminds me of Attack on Titan, and it amazing that you've accomplished similar kind of intensity without giant naked dudes in coop. overall, great runner that would be better with less punishing difficulty.

Raphy says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very well done, concept is addictive. It's pretty hard though !

Calciumtrice says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:57pm

This played nicely, had great looking graphics and sounded good!

Definitely difficult, seems like it might've been fairer to have the timer restart to its value when you first started the level. The jumping also felt a little sticky at some points but a really good job overall.

Espyo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:49pm

1689! Nothing to brag home about, but I didn't optimize my runs as much as I should.
Anyway, this game is excellent! Addictive, good graphics, nice soundtrack, gameplay feels super nice, little details like the encouragement when you die... I only have some minor complaints, but other than that, this game could is by far one of the best I've seen here!
Restarting quickly with the likes of R would be nice. It sucks knowing you don't have enough time to complete it, but you either have to wait for the timer to end, or go to the pause menu, quit, choose play, and skip the cutscene, which is kinda frustrating.
The spikes should have their graphics match their hitboxes better. Most of my deaths came from hitting spikes I shouldn't even have touched.
When you enter a new level, if you're holding a direction, the game will not move that way, unless you release and re-hold. I quickly grew past that, as the grapples are the best way to move, but it was still a bit annoying.
I want to see more from you guys next LD!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:29pm

The mechanics of this game are very fun, but the time limit is severely limiting my enjoyment. Perhaps if you die, the timer should reset to what it was at the last checkpoint? Movement is very fluid and I enjoy the fast pace, but sometimes the grapples seem to fire at the wrong angles. Not sure if that's just my imagination tho. The graphics were very well done but could use a bit more contrast. I felt the audio was very good though could use some more audio feedback fore different events, eg. collecting crystals, opening doors. Perhaps tone down the screen shake and fade a bit as the last 4-ish seconds are unplayable.

foumart says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Barely completed the level from the first screen. Check points would be nice on an easy mode for example. My only complaint is the lack of fullscreen - i sometimes click outside the game window in an extreme attempt to dodge the chasm haha :D ..also the screen shaking is harmful, but the game is very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]