December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bazooka guy

by Wukkopi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Had lots of personal things going on through this weekend, but still managed to get something done. Here's a small more like prototypish game, where you use your bazooka to propel yourself over obstacles. More and more skill is needed later as you can only have one shell loaded in your bazooka.

This game needs XNA 4.0 framework installed, you can get it from links above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#145Fun3.45
#315Overall3.24
#335Innovation3.14
#386Theme3.10
#699Mood2.47
#799Graphics2.28

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Wow! Surprisingly addicting. The learning curve is pretty nice too, not something you see in a lot of these games :) I got stuck and was going to screenshot to show you where, but the screen goes purple when I hit printscreen? I'm not sure why that is. Anyway the part where you're supposed to jump through a floating "ammo" and land on a single block and then jump again. My second blast / jump isn't nearly powerful enough to get me to the right place :3 great game overall!

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

The trick is to jump and shoot simultaneously to gain extra momentum ;)

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Wow this is sooo addicting :)

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Nice physics. Interesting idea but gets a little repetitive by the end.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29pm

A game based on rocket jumping, awesome!

Nice concept, the single ammo aspect fits the theme but did mean that there weren't any real puzzles - you always know exactly where you need to go.

SPOILER ALERT
zonnelly13 - you need to press jump and fire at the same time, makes you go a lot further.
END OF SPOILER

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:08pm

"WIN!!!" arkazon had the pro tip. Really great game! simple but awesome! super glad you commit something even w/ rl issues!

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Played through the whole game (to the "WIN"). I would play more of this! Small visual feedback for picking ammo perhaps? Or maybe let it be, it has its charm :) Great work!

ocmu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25pm

WIN!!! Nice concept, really fun.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

Super-fun mechanic! Definitely something you should build on, if you have the time!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Very cool and fun mechanics. And very addicting. :)

aldian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

the take on the concept was awesome, jumping is a little hard though. Well done (:

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Fun and original. A good start to something bigger, I'd say. ;)

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:04am

Solid stuff. I've always liked rocket jumping in Team Fortress 2 so this was definitely a must play for me.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:34am

This is the best interpretation of the theme I've seen so far. Good job! I hope you follow this up with a post-compo version.

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Why don't you use mono. Microsoft made this new OS called "Windows 8" and they decided to mob all the XNA devs by not supporting it any longer:)

Crusable says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:26am

I fell out of the level.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:26am

I really liked the rocket jump mechanic in this game. Horizontal jumping movement was a bit weird thou

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Very good game! I liked it very much, played it for quite a while, unfortunately I couldn't finish it because I suck at these kind of games, but I loved it! :)

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Pretty cool! I like the momentum thingy. My entry features the same kind of thing :]

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:59am

I liked the mechanic, but it didn't get interesting until the last part (to get to "WIN").

Would have been nice if the ammo indicator was something visual on the character, rather than text in the upper left corner.

Could have used some audio.

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I had a hard time to understand of things worked for optimal power but finally managed to play. Good game, I had a lot of fun ! :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:27am

Nice game, thought I did get stuck :( I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]