December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Justin Beiber Presents: Justin Beiber in, Justin Beiber-Ball starring Justin Beiber: Mad Swag edition

by Jedi - Jam Entry

DISCLAIMER: Justin Beiber did not actually endorse this game. That would be cool but he's a douche.

Due to technical difficulties, and the fact that it's obnoxious, you can't actually play it :`(. See my journal for more info.

Here's how it works: You have a ping-pong ball on an inclined table. It's kind of like pinball except instead of flippers, you control a spinning paddle to keep the ball in play as long as possible, and try to get past Justin Beiber's bodyguards. But you only have one ball! (Because the game is kind of easy and lasts just the right amount of time with one ball)

I added Beiber and the bodyguards to the playfield a few hours after the jam end. I didn't spend as long as I spent mucking about with a bad hard drive (see journal) so I don't feel too guilty about doing this, but you can rate me down if you want.


Tools used:

R/C car
ATX power supply
Three 6' tables
Foam core
hot glue
paper
packing tape
full-sheet label paper
springs from bic pens

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#110Humor(Jam)3.10
#184Innovation(Jam)3.10
#444Audio(Jam)1.88
#452Theme(Jam)2.21
#487Fun(Jam)2.15
#488Graphics(Jam)2.24
#491Mood(Jam)2.00
#495Overall(Jam)2.39

Comments

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

The game at http://www.magiccarpenters.com/daily_games/turing/ , isn't the game you describe?

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:13am

it would be nice if the link was about the game

drnick says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:29am

your warmup game is very well made, very realistic, much like hunting dinossaurs in real life 10/10 - notdrnick

drnick says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:39am

^ Forget that, it's my troll friend spamming things with my account. He was talking about your Turing: Dinosaur Hunter game.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:46am

Juxtaposition msaterposition :)

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Hey guys, I'm really sorry about leaving my warm-up game as the link for so long.

As I say in my journal, (and said in my entry when it was applicable) my pc died during the jam and caused me a lot of grief, and I thought I could leave that link up as a super-temporary placeholder to let me submit. I worked harder on this than any other LD so I didn't want to submit nothing. I made the warm-up in 72 hours too, so it didn't really feel like "cheating" to me in my jam-addled state of mind.

I thought I'd have a video made MUCH sooner but the working laptop I had just wasn't up to the task.

I hope everyone understands and I'm sorry for the confusion!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Sorry, can't play this game, next time make something more portable. Nice take on theme, and the Bieber looks really realistic.

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Justin Bieber should endorse this game!

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice work, I like how this is kind of outside the box. I shouldn't really be rating it because I can't play it -- unless what I'm rating is the experience of watching you play the game on YouTube, which I can do, in which case, therefore, I'm rating it.

Also I like hunting dinosaurs, but it would be nice if the gun reloaded when you fire your last bullet instead of when you try to fire the next one.

Harsay says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Pure troll and awesome :D Not rating

Peni6 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:30pm

love the troll here, good laugh, obviously not gonna win any awards, but well done :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:01am

hhahahahahahahahaha xD .... well the game idea is nice i guess xD

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:11am

Fun concept, and I like that you thought outside of the box.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:00am

I got a laugh, thanks.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:08am

OMG You are a genius.

Blinked says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:52am

5/5 Best Game #beiber4ever #madswag

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Unity3D? Great graphics ;)

Tomski says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:22pm

10/10

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I DON'T CARE WHAT ANYONE SAYS THIS IS MY FAVOURITE LUDUM DARE ENTRY

I'll list my results from bottom up

MOOD - 5 STARS - perfectly captures the way I feel when Justin Bieber can't respond to MY love
HUMOUR - 5 STARS - Justin's such a cool and funny guy
AUDIO - 5 STARS - The audio is really realistic it sounds like you're really hitting a ball with a paddle
GRAPHICS - 5 STARS - Anything with Justin in it deserves 5 stars for graphics ^_<~*
THEME - 3 STARS - Could have featured more Justin Bieber (ALSO I CAN'T BELIEB YOU SPELT JUSTIN'S SWEET SWEET NAME WRONG)
FUN - 5 STARS - YES
INNOVATION - 1 STAR - I'm sorry but going after Justin's heart is a very unoriginal idea, I mean I do it every day
OVERALL - 5 STARS - TOP WORK GREAT JOB

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:00am

Photorealistic graphics FTW!!!!!! Congrats. Always a little fresh air is welcomed. Thank you for making this contest a little more fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]