December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

($SRCROOT)\dungeon

by kirbytails7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***
*** NOTE: You need to destroy corrupted files (the red blocks) and defeat enemies to get more attacks. The files in the first room always give you more attacks, so you should destroy them first. ***
*** (Also, it's "source root slash dungeon")

Bugs have entered the mainframe! Deploy the virus termination script! (That's you.)

It's an action-roguelike with randomly-generated dungeons. The dungeon generator ate up more time that I expected, so most everything else suffered. There's no music and there are lots of collision bugs, but hopefully you will still enjoy! Controls are on the game's page.

You only get one life! You only get one attack to start with! You only get 1KB of attacks! Admittedly, the theme was not a priority for this one...

Uses a custom engine made with the Video Game Development Club at the University of Minnesota a couple of years ago, and sfxr for sound effects and Paint.NET for sprites.

Please let me know if you find any bugs.
Known issues:
- Collision is weird when changing rooms. If you get stuck, move around a bit. Also, don't go out of bounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#334Humor2.63
#427Innovation3.00
#429Overall3.09
#447Mood2.84
#536Fun2.81
#578Audio2.35
#618Theme2.65
#709Graphics2.51

Comments

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

pretty cool idea. I liked the style a bunch!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08am

Awesome idea!

Lost King says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20am

Pretty cool, pretty tough, pretty unforgiving.

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20am

Collision didn't work as expected. I'm not sure what I was doing wrong, but I didn't shoot anything when I pressed the arrow keys.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08am

@Lost King - Yes, it is pretty hard. I should probably fix that...

@Baknik - What browser are you using? Also, you might have run out of uses for the attack you were on (Q/E cycle attacks).

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09am

@Baknik - Also, yeah, the collision is pretty messy. I need to go back in time two years and tell myself and my friends to comment their code.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

A really cool idea. My controls were a bit buggy... my "d" key didn't work unless I held shift while doing it? (I'm definitely not in caps-lock or anything, I disabled that junk, haha) That made it even harder to play! Also is there any reason you can't see what's in a room before you move into it?

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Enemies surprised me. They seem to target you. Nice matrix colors. Is theme influenced by 868-HACK?

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47am

@zconnelly13 - D didn't work? That's strange...I'll have to look into that one. And, you can't see the next room so that it's a surprise!

@pusheax - I hadn't heard of that before...It looks pretty neat. I was initially aiming for something like Binding of Isaac (but less...stylized).

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30am

Really fun! A bit buggy, but maybe that should be expected in a game about bugs :)

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:42am

Those rolling jerks are a pain. Is there any way to recover health?

Overall, love the premise and the gameplay.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57am

@Ryusui - No, there are no health drops or anything... (Also, nice icon.)

ryann says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57am

I like the take on action roguelikes and the hacker graphics style. The movement and combat could have been better since those are so important to the genre.

runsintowalls says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10am

Like the variety in the art. But I was often left with no weapons and no way to get more D: !

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45am

@ryann - Engine problems...I had to spend to long on some collision bugs and couldn't fix others.

@runsintowalls - You've gotta conserve your ammo! =D It also helps if you get one of the rooms with the blue crawly bugs, since they're the easiest to kill.

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22am

Fun game! I managed to defeat the first boss, but those rolly ones on the next level are harsh. The collision detection being slightly off made it a bit frustrating and it felt unfair that the enemies could just go straight through the blocks.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23am

great visual style. felt like once I beat my first enemy, the limited ammo factor didn't really matter, but still fun overal

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:05pm

it was pretty fun and the "inside computer" stuff was pretty charming. great entry.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I like the idea, but I think the execution is a bit disappointing.
Collision is tricky and can block you in unexpected places. I also never managed to kill anything with my only shot, and didn't find a way to reload. Sometimes the generated dungeons would have red blocks completely covering an exit (was this on purpose?).
Oh, I liked the graphics!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28am

Kinda cool, not sure if I played it right.. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/OVru4uI3W-s

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:36am

Nice concept

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:58am

Thanks for playing, all!
I again need to apologize for the buggy collision. I'm assuming that the main problem is the paths between rooms? I can change the collision on them so they're easier to go through but will let you get out of bounds if you try...though I suppose there's no incentive for going OOB. Hmm...

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Gameplay mechanics were rather nice and I loved how the graphical style of the game fits the premise.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Great idea. A bit too difficult for my liking.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Not bad! The graphics look a bit better than the thumbnails suggest, but it could still be improved. I like that going from room to room is a smooth transition (the character stay in the same position).

01rafael says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:14am

great world! I've checked all rooms! graphics is delicious.
But, gameplay is not my kind maybe

minibutmany says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Nice concept. I like how you pick up each of the files little 'bits'.

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:39pm

4/5 for innovation :) I really liked it

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:09pm

superb design and highly addictive gameplay... IMO the control scheme could be improved to make the playthrough faster...

clearlyspam23 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:12am

Alot of potential, given more time I think this could be a great game. As it is, the game is very hard, as with no ammo there seems to be nothing you can do except lose.

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice art! It's a shame I found the controls a little too unforgiving to get far though :(

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:57am

Ignore my comment - it was for the wrong game XD

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:26am

Fantastic! love the colors, sound and nice use of flashing sprites.

blasmena says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Has a lot of replayability, a lot to explore, is very fun! Would be 1000 times more attractive with more polished graphics. Glad I stepped into your game ;)

saulopz says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:58am

This game makes ​​me nostalgic. Reminded me of Atari games and Odissei. I liked.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]