December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ultra Awesome Cartridge!

by nSun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Once upon a time,
While parents know nothing about video games....
It's Chrismas."


Click on screen to skip dialogs and select menu.
Controls with Arrow Keys

Notice:
I made this game in 8 hours, after giving up the first game I worked from Saturday morning until Sunday at 16h, with great exasperation. (more details in the dev-blog)

Note:
I cant test the html5 version on tablet or smart-phone myself. So I dont know if it working well. (Dont hesitate to give a feedback about that, i'm curious)

Spoil:
I was inspired by the first odyssey games. As game, you only get a white square on the screen. I was also inspired by dubious compilation of games in one cartridge (as 52 in 1 on NES). Where games only get a try, then you try to forget it.

I lacked time, I had the brains to mush, I wanted to let off steam ...
Sorry about that, because I had lost the intension (or capacity) to produce a game properly. At least I hope you have fun with the care that I put to ridicule each gameplay.

If you don't know about "52 in 1" NES game, follow the link bellow "inspired by". There is a funny video critic by the Angy Video Game Nerd.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Humor3.81
#424Fun2.96
#469Theme2.93
#556Innovation2.82
#633Overall2.83
#689Mood2.48
#908Graphics2.00
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

I could play hide and seek the whole day.
Old good memories of those electronic games with 'Amazing 10 games in 1'.

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:37pm

This is the great!

Reminds me of those old very horrible multi-pack games. You did well.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Genius

Ysty says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:51pm

That was great. I especially liked Hide and Seek.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Lol.

The race game was misleading - I thought I was going to get to draw the map :(

Also, when failing at multi-player, I should be returned to the main menu, like when I fail at the other games, otherwise I'm forced to play it again and again until I win.

Overall, better than I thought it would be. :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Cute games. Funny use of the theme. I was entertained.

nSun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:08am

@JaymeeMak:
Actually there were a bug in the race game, the trigger "back to menu" was enabled at startup (and I dont understand why). But now it's corrected.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice recovery! In past LD48's, I've done similar major rage-type-changes and given up on a particular idea late in the weekend... but haven't come up with anything quite as clever as this.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:09am

Hahaha absolute genius :) Especially liked Tetris :D

occash says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:53am

Hm...what's the meaning of the game... I have black screen...and it only show me "You're looser or winner"...

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:01pm

No sounds.... It's a pity... However good job for there multy-games! :D

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Brilliant! Golf and racing were the best. I didn't have a friend to try the multiplayer out sadly, so I just had to pretend.

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Hahaha ! Great ! :D

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I saw a square :D

drkrunk says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:23am

Lol, this was neat idea putting a lot of simple little games into one. And they were fun :) Great job, I enjoyed all of them!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:28pm

You handled the failure of your first try very well! Points for humour!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]