December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

a Pantless Man with a Clueless Plan

by Detocroix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

a Pantless Man with a Clueless Plan
by Detocroix
for you.

A red coat adventurer.
One action per "life".
7 deaths.
Probably minute of gameplay!

The two sets of sounds are recorded with ocarina, tapping table top and my headset :)

www.detocroix.com
twitter@detocroix

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Graphics4.44
#61Humor3.66
#73Mood3.65
#205Audio3.10
#261Overall3.30
#431Theme3.00
#544Fun2.80
#635Innovation2.70
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

evilDan says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I dig it! Love the aesthetic - the snow falling is a great touch. My favorite is when the narrator dies of boredom

q7204k says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:35am

Very well made! I like the style =D

TimoVihola says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29am

Haha, mahtava! :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

I really enjoyed this, great art style and 'story' lol. 5 stars. Great little game.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

Wow that art, It's got a real story to the whole thing.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

So much art, and so awesome! There's not much to the game itself, but it was still a pleasant and enjoyable experience for the short time it lasted.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00am

Love the bird. Great job!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22am

Web link displays nothing for me, but I'm trying to play from ChromeOS so there's a good chance the issue is on my end. Figured I'd mention it just in case it isn't an issue with me. I'll try to play on Windows on another day.

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53am

nice, was funny and realy liked the guys walk animation.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

I really love the graphics, and I really like that birdsound.
I especially like the overall mood of this game. gameplay wise there isn't much to do though.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55am

Fantastic!! Art style is reaaaally cool, and ocarina is a nice touch!

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18am

Priceless. Worth every laugh. Very cute.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38am

Really nice looking pixel art.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56am

Great entry, love the graphics!

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59am

I loved the graphic design!
Even the game is simple, it's fun and atmospheric.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:13pm

I dunno what just happened, but I wouldn't trade it for the world

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I really liked the graphics and overall mood and feel! There wasn't much to play, but it was fun experience.

dudsen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Sir, this is pretty damn funny! We need more punishment for player interactions ! Poor narrator... :D

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Love it! I like the graphics and aesthetics in general. The annoying bird is really annoying! I miss a win condition.

Colorvade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Good stuff. Everything I could say you'd already expect, so in that sense I'd call it a success.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Fun aesthetic, and the humor pulls it all together.

Detocroix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26am

Thanks for the comments everyone! My internet died right after submit and I haven't been able to reply nor play LD games.. Should work now! Time for some LD gaming :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55am

Gorgeous graphics :) So, is there a way to get some trousers?

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:56am

xD I loved this. Extremely simple, but it looks beautiful and was quite entertaining. The walking animation looked funny (but given the way the rest of the game went, it kinda worked), but the walking sound seemed out of place (to me it sounded like you were walking on wood even when outside). Other than that, I had no issues with the game.

Detocroix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59am

Will Edwards : Thank you! No pants! Trousers are banned from this world. You can notice both wagoner and bartender are both pantless too!

SnorinFrog : Thanks! I the walking sound actually is me knocking my table, so no surprise :D

Tonasz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Truely awesome few minutes! I even won't list pros, 'cause everything is perfect. :)

goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:21am

haha. Lovely graphics!!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Weird aesthetic. It kind of creeps me out.

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:15pm

The art is amazing!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Great art, humor, ocarina, and theme usage :D

rubna says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Not a lot of gameplay, but really nice art, audio and overall mood! Also, the deaths were a bit predictable, but really funny nonetheless! Good job :D

nka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

This is kind of agressive world to live in lol. Awesome graphics, love it.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Love the style, and the sound effects haha. Very polished art, reminded me of lemmings with the low-res style. Keep it up!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:50pm

The most amazing graphics. Top marks for Fun and Mood as well!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Really nice style

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Fun, funny game! I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

Kid1227 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:47am

Love the art style! Wish there was more of an actual "game" to play, but that was kind of your point anyway. Still a really good game with great use of theme!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:18am

Very short, but good nonetheless. Death at every action was kind of weird but funny. The falling snow looked really cool. And how the inside if the house was shown, that was a nice touch. And of course, best game title ever.

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:45am

Great graphics and audio! I like your entry very much. This could be an awesome game, it only needs more content.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Amazing art!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Absolutely love this experience! Really accomplished pixel art, amusing text and great sounds - great work! I suppose more "to do" would have been nice

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Awesome pixel art and fun stories at each death! Good luck!

Harsay says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I love this bird! <3

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:15pm

The art is so good in this - made me wish there was a little more to the gameplay. Also, That's the perfect walk cycle.

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:01pm

The graphics are great in this game! And well done sfx!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I loved it ! The graphics are amazing, all the ending artwork are beautiful and funny ! I found the 7 ending, totally worth it. You made me laugh a lot ;) The sound was funny too, that annoying bird made me smile. Great work !

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Awesome graphics, nice writing. The bird sound is also cool :)

jarnik says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Love it! Funny, great graphics, found all the endings.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]