December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Blade in the Night

by Infin8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A "SwordFighting" game. Scaling Levels and difficulty.

You are the Lone Blade that guards the Night. Something sinister approaches...but it fights like mortal men would with blades. Parry and Strike!

Left click to slash.
Right click to change the holding angle.
Slash all the orbs to proceed to the next level and block the red slashes. One hit from a red slash will defeat you!

The original inspiration for the game was the one hit battles from Japanese samurai fights. The idea's evolved and digressed...but still is fun!

Thanks to the folks who let me know that the link's broken! I've updated both links to work correctly!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#561Audio2.38
#760Graphics2.38
#805Theme2.30
#814Innovation2.38
#822Mood2.25
#941Overall2.33
#958Fun1.95
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Elite6809 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Web link broken.

spike_xp says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:38pm

404 web link DX

Renamed it by accident?

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Download exe complains about missing data directory

poingferret says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:23pm

404 error...just fix the link and you should be ok.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03am

Sorry for the broken links! They should be fixed now!

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Like the original concept, its kind of like a mix of old school arcade games like Time Crisis with some sword fighting thrown in. Took awhile to get the hang of how the sword feels. I think some UI feedback on how many swings you made/missed or orbs you hit would help the player.

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

It's rather difficult to get a feeling for depth. I think that if you made it possible to move your head a bit, that would help a lot.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Yep, link works now :). Cool game and the ambient sounds are really good. I would suggest making it way faster though, like the sword follows your mouse directly or maybe it gets faster as you play more (and you could keep score of some sort)? The level seemed to restart when I hit a sphere? Not sure why? Still a cool game though, thanks!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Web link works for me; ambient audio really adds to the sense of the game. Well done. :)

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I like the idea, and I think the gameplay could be great fun, however the controls are not really working. There's too much delay of the sword movement from the mouse, and the animation seems to start later than the mouse click.

I like the idea, I think it's not really well fit with the theme, but there's potential :)

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:05am

Nice idea, but the controls are a bit broken, things disappear for no apparent reason and depth perception is virtually impossible. Would be really cool with some more polish.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:42am

Interesting concept, taken a little further it could be more fun.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Cool concept, nice game, I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:28pm

The depth is a bit... weird.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:27am

The slashing felt a bit slow and the depth perception was really messed up. But nice aesthetics.

xrm0 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:03pm

The sword moves a bit slow, like @Diptoman says

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]