December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Follow the Sun

by incobalt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One day, when Kayin was playing in the village, a great face in the Sun appeared and spoke. "My child," the face said, 'it is I, your King."
"A great evil is soon to visit our land and I am all but powerless. They have trapped me here in my throne room, I reached out, searching for power, and I have found it in you, young one."
"I can unlock the power in you, but I am weak. The power I grant you will only remain while our great Sun is in the sky. When night falls, so will I, and your power. But I have faith in you! Take this power and cleanse this land of corruption. Come to me and remove my captors. Beware the red death, for you are yet frail. Night approaches. Follow the Sun!"
Move using WASD or the arrow keys.
Press the spacebar to use the power.

Follow the Sun is the first game I've really executed in 3D making all the assets myself. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot about making a full game. Sadly there is no sound, as I ran out of time to make any sound, and the gameplay is a bit rudimentary.

NOTE: The post-compo version 1 includes a fix that many people were complaining about for the game (it quits to desktop instead of returning to the title screen). It is not meant for rating, but might make playing more convenient for those who have rated it and want to try it again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#598Graphics2.74
#779Overall2.65
#785Mood2.32
#827Theme2.26
#873Innovation2.22
#886Fun2.22
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34am

I like the backstory, and the game runs smoothly. Please make it so the game doesn't exit when the player loses though, send em to the main menu or something is preferable. Or in unity, just do Aplication.Loadlevel(Aplication.loadedlevel). Kind of a pain to restart the whole app when I die :(. Other then that, good job, and thanks for submitting! :D

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39am

Game runs smoothly, but as @TEddyNashor mentioned, it's quite annoying that the entire game shuts down when you die.

Good game though :)

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

not sure the logic behind how this fits in the theme... either way, I liked the graphics. I tended to not use the weapon, and just avoided the enemies. responsive controls.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43am

love the storybook feel. Maybe next time try using sprites as your intro art is great!

RadioLemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

You Sir, know how to draw!

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:04am

It's a tad annoying that the game closes when you get caught. Also, the enemies looked like powerups when I first saw them, and I immediately ran towards it. :P

Not sure how this fits with the theme, but I gave up after my 3rd attempt (didn't want to restart it again).

Cute backstory, though. Gave it a little bit of charm!

incobalt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Hey all, thanks for the comments. I'm actually laughing, reading the comments about me knowing how to draw, because it's probably my worst skill :P It's really just basic shapes and then some paint.net filters (mostly noise + crystallize in the first areas). By if you like it, then yay!
I want to apologize for not having it go back to the main screen. I really intended to, but I just ran out of time to go and figure out which static variables I needed to reset, and I didn't want it to behave strangely, so I just had it quit.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:01pm

The most crazy game i never play. Wtf is this? hahaha, anyway i like the concept and i think you must need polish this game more. Gj anyway.

hbocao says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52am

I enjoyed the back story and controls (I liked how you stand still for a moment when you use the power), but, yeah, the game closing when you lose it's very annoying. :( And I think I missed the theme interpretation too.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:50pm

It's a really bad idea to kick the player out on death unless you want him to stop playing your game and contemplate or something. You should just start the level over.

incobalt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:52am

I made a version that no longer boots people to the desktop when an ending is reached. It is obviously not for rating as the booting to desktop is merely an annoyance, rather than a game-breaking bug. There's a lot more that I want to do with the game, so this was just a hotfix for all of you who wanted the game to return to the title screen.

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I see some people complaining about the game closing when you lose. Might I be the first to complain when you win? Accidentally pressed space...Aside from that, I enjoyed the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]