December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Life Only

by Gear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Survive as long as you can:
X to Jump
C to breath fire,
and Arrow keys to move + aim mouth.
(You can only aim down whilst in mid-air)

Made by Gear in Flixel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#241Graphics3.47
#416Humor2.43
#421Audio2.67
#460Overall3.05
#570Fun2.76
#626Mood2.58
#700Theme2.51
#808Innovation2.39

Comments

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Great little game. Again though I come across the issue of my audio mixer being set to roughly 50% - and the people who live with me going "What the fuck is that?" Due to the loudness of everything.
I like the art, and the gameplay definitely comes together quite well.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Nice retro audio/visual. The game is simple but well implemented. A lower difficulty curve would be nice to allow for learning.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Plays well, the recoil on the fire is a nice touch.

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

Good little game. I cannot get past 30 seconds though. The graphics have a nice retro feel and for some reason, the game reminds me of Bubble Bobble.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26am

I like the retro graphics. It was hard to figure out what to do to advance in the game.

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:39am

Love the mechanics, graphics and very well implemented. The only thing I didn't like so much was the keys you chose to play but... that's a matter of taste. Awesome game.

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Feels nice to play, but are the bats supposed to never actually die? I can't even kill the darn things.

Gear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:33pm

@Tsumei Okay, I'll make sure to to rais-I mean lower the volume next time.

@Ashedragon They shouldn't be immortal, but admittedly I may or may not have raised the bat's health at the last minute.

ACE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:52pm

I think this was a pretty interesting game, but if only I was any good and nice letting alone it was created for the LD

Pomb says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:33am

You win! fantastic game. I really like how simplistic it is, I'd say that enemies need to show their life status, and that it should start off spawning enemies slower. Other than that, you should consider taking this further! :) it's addictive too :) I enjoyed hovering above cracks and burning the guys as they come out, because they fly straight into all the balls :) Would have been cool also if the blue ones die to falling on the head and the others by fire, to give some variance. Really well done.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:03pm

loved the graphics

hroon says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I really like the graphics and the gameplay. My only complaint would be that it is extremly hard, couldn't manage to kill more than two bats.

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Suprising depth in the movement since you can use the recoil to move around. Would have liked if it was a bit easier to control movement in the air. Could also use some way of seeing how much hp the monsters have left and what kind of monster will spawn in the holes.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I lovie this game. Great graphics, soudtracks and gameplay ! Congratulations :)

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Great game, but the controls are pretty hard, along with killing bats, haha.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:40pm

nice work....i saw similar games before, but still great job!

Harsay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Nice looking graphics. Simple and enjoyable.

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:40pm

The graphics were very good and the game controlled well. But I wasn't able to figure out what to do :/

bitserum says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very nice. I had fun with this one. Jumping, shooting mechanics are really fun. Evolving scene is also great.

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Good Game, but the enemies are a little to hard to kill. It would be nice if they got gradually harder.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Lovely game. I love retro visuals :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Nice little game, but hard... :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]