December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mayor's Holiday

by Corné Dorrestijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The mayor has had a stressfull time, so now he's going on a holiday to a island, but he can only take one item with him. Make the right choice to make him happy and get rid of his stress.

Build with:
- JS
- Pixi
- Tween.js
- Inkscape
- Vim
- GNU/Linux (debian)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Humor3.43
#180Theme3.48
#371Graphics3.17
#559Mood2.67
#750Fun2.48
#766Overall2.67
#829Innovation2.33
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

agwblack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42am

Awesome! I lol'd

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07am

I liked it! The record seems to be buggy for me. After he puts the record on the player I don't get the newspaper, he is just standing there, moving his legs.

First really "finished" game I have tested!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Thanks, the i heard that another item has the wrong ending, i try to upload a post-compo version with the fixed endings tonight.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Cool art and fun little stories. Music would have been nice.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Funny "game". :D

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Did everyone else pick the gun the first time? (Is it bad I did?)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Interesting idea and concept. Depending on what island he's off to he definitely needs a gun. Or a lollipop maybe?

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice art work :)

mdelally says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Is it wrong that I immediately think this game is dedicated to Rob Ford?

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Cute.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Haha, great job! Sound effects would do wonders to this, though.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Missing sounds but funny little game :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Thanks, i really would have loved to add some sound effects, sadly i've almost no experience with it and i didnt have much time left.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Good humour, simple enough game. Poor old mayor!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

what a sweet and fun game! too bad there's no music to accompany one of the endings!

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

This game is clearly more fun and more interactive than Beyond: Two Souls.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:18am

Funny idea, solid implementation. I like the sequence of airport-plane-island Really illustrative. Some sounds would have improved this very much. Try the tools found at the Ludum Dare Tools links. More individual newspaper headlines would be even more funny.
A restart button should also be in there.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Nice use of the theme, and highly humorous entry. I liked it a lot.

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice Idea! I really liked it.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Nice game, but it would have been great, if you had to do multiple decisions during one playthrough.
The graphics look quite cool!
Nice work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]