December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Cookie

by Pyrofoux - Jam Entry

Only One Cookie is a game inspired by the "You take more than one cookie !" moment everyone has one day felt.

Featuring students, your goal is to find who take your cookie. It was very hard to finish this game in 48 hours, so I submitted it to the Jam. There is a random generated levels so you can play it forever ! (It becomes harder)

I hope you'll enjoy it. :)

HELP :
Your goal is to find who took more than one cookie.
Each level, you can choose a student. Each student has two special skills.
You can ask someone how many cookie he ate or who's the stealer.
Beware ! Students can lie, protect their friends or accuse their enemies.
In addition, someone can take a cookie without eating it.
First levels are easy, but the more you go, the more it become complex.
When you fail a level, you come back to level 1.
Good luck ! Remember : you can only get one stealer !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#139Humor(Jam)2.95
#154Theme(Jam)3.15
#203Innovation(Jam)3.04
#241Graphics(Jam)3.30
#298Overall(Jam)3.04
#311Fun(Jam)2.74
#407Mood(Jam)2.50

Comments

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Love the art and premise! Hehehe

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36am

this is very good! starts easy, but once you get into it, you can spend a while!

Rothens says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26am

Not a bad idea, but it need a bit more polish :)

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nice idea.

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:27am

Suggestion for future build : difficulty should increase much faster. I found the 15 first levels too easy

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nice idea!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Nice pixel art, but a little unintuitive playing, had trouble telling which part of the UI was active. Maybe some reticules around the selected request would help.

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:27pm

@JohnnySix Yes, sorry for this, I'm not very skilled in GUI programming and I had not much time to make something better good looking. Thank you ! I hope you enjoyed the game. :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Nice graphics, but no audio? The idea is good, but I was also confused by the GUI. Any way, good job!

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Very fun game, could just do with a bit of music and/or sound effects!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:02pm

A great, immersing idea, but it get tedious after a while. Could have used some music and/or sfx. And the interface was really confusing at first, though it can be figured out.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]