December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mayfly

by keksdev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first solo entry!

So after thinking about the one problem - the theme - for
the first 10 hours, I came up with the idea of a mayfly's day.

During the only day of her whole life she gets out of the
water, visits dangerous caves and meets her loved one. Just
to give birth to another day of another mayfly.


Controls:
Flap the wings by pressing/holding the mouse button or space key.

Developed with:
Java, LibGDX, Eclipse, Gimp, autotracker, convert

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Mood3.63
#93Graphics3.92
#110Theme3.64
#209Innovation3.38
#469Audio2.57
#603Overall2.88
#941Fun2.04
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Vanish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice graphics and music, simple but still innovative.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Beautiful backgrounds. I think this would be nice if you fleshed it out to tell the story of the mayfly more. Maybe build it up to be more of an adventure. Short, simple, but very innovative.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I like the idea, but it felt more like a movie than a game..!
Love your use of colors

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:25pm

At first I was like, "hrmm"... and then realised what a lovely take on the theme it was. A really nice idea, implemented nicely. Simple but effective. :)

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Gorgeous, but not much gameplay. i suppose that's the point!

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Great job on the art ! The lack of gameplay creates a particular feeling, which I love !
It seems that there still is some debug features, like when Q is pressed :)

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Poetic game ! Very simplistic gameplay but that's part of the experience, gives a feeling of contemplation and discovery that I really like.
On the other hand, it's sometimes buggy when I fly, I instantly teleport and it's kindda weird.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

The graphics has something magic in it! *_*

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Graphics are beautyful. Mood is awesome :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36pm

NIce but lacks of gameplay.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

It's an experience not a game! And I don't mean that in a bad way.
Sounds like autotracker though, it doesn't really go with the beautiful game, I think.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Really artistic, me like!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:27am

This (not even a proper) game has best theme interpretation I've seen so far. Graphics are really impressive and artistic. Unfortunately music doesn't fit this.. As an experiment it's great ;-)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:08am

happy game. nice graphics.
the character swims sooooo sloow :D

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Whaouuuuuuu, this was very beautiful... Thank for the experience.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Very pleasant artwork and a nice take on the theme. Personally, I felt the lack of gameplay (i.e. player choices or skill) left something to be desired, but this was nice nonetheless. Good work.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:54am

Slow start but it's a pretty little poetic game.

atombrot says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

very nice graphics! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]