December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

King of the hill

by ghostonline - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you must try to stay on top by whacking the other players from the platform (platform, hill, potatoes, potatoes). Beware though, your kingdom can become quite small over time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Fun3.64
#205Overall3.39
#229Graphics3.50
#278Humor2.81
#411Innovation3.03
#463Audio2.59
#489Mood2.77
#861Theme2.17
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

Pretty great, love the sound effects and the AI is quite solid haha, doesn't go too well with the theme though

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

I wasn't able to get the guy off the board probly doing it wrong XD ah well nice job.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice frenetic click-fest of a game. The game is short, sweet, and to the point, good job.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Great concept, really enjoyed it.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44am

Plays really smooth and the controls were pretty intuitive after my first failed attempt. :) Gets a little repetitive; even with the playing field shrinking it was the same idea over and over!

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09am

Not sure if this gets along well with the theme.

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Like it :3
Now add screenshake/blood/bloom/lens flares/more screenshake/guns

JackBid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I really liked this game, a fun and challenging concept. I am just not too sure how it relates to the theme...

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Fun game!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

This would be an amazing persistant multiplayer online game.

mobyvb says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Feels very polished. I'd love to see a multiplayer option.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Interesting game. Very easy to step out and die though, which was annoying.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Really nice game!! I loved the awesome graphics, the game play, the challenge! Very fun and well done. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

Solid entry, fun to play.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Seems pretty easy at first but damn...had some fun with it! I like those sound effects! Nice overall!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:19am

Cool game, I think it would be awesome as a multiplayer game.
I accidentally threw myself off the level fighting the dummy. heh.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:36pm

This is a lot of fun and such a neat idea... very well designed, impressive for 48 hours! Rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]