December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Leapof-8

by chamberlainpi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very small game of multiple outcomes. Depending on how you jump into the portal (if at all), you get a different outcome message.
I wasted too much time on writing a custom blitting engine... only to swap it out with Starling (Adobe's Open-Source GPU framework for Flash).
Anyways, the "outcomes" system is something I'm proud of, it sorts through your data (your jumps, closest distance to portal, how near in time, how far off, etc.) and can trump other messages depending on their priority. It's neat! And awesome that it's loaded dynamically through a JSON file.

Alright, enjoy it for what it's worth!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#131Humor3.29
#364Theme3.13
#473Graphics2.97
#630Fun2.68
#643Innovation2.68
#709Mood2.46
#762Overall2.68

Comments

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice graphics and I found the little death messages quite funny. The game's not very 'deep' (if you'll pardon my pun) but it's a good time while it lasts!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Pretty decent, not the most interesting though.

celsyum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

i found it very funny game. Need sound definitely. Unique idea and a bit depressing :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Hey nice little game, it was funny ;)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Once I realised I had to jump in the portal it became fun and was not bad.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Haha, yeeeeh if you kept jumping before the portal showed up... you probably got only a pinch of the messages available in the game. Glad you found it fun though :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

A fun little game. Nice graphics, particularly the animations with idling and all.

Finding all (or a bunch anyway) of the responses to everything you can do makes for a cool objective besides trying to hit the portal.

Sound would've been cool but definitely well put together and pretty damn fun!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16am

Had more fun with this than I thought I would. Like the flavour text (although I wish there were more!) and I'm pretty sure some people could take something deeper out of this!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

The idea is nice. I like the graphics, remind me of another world. I miss sounds and more gamey things (socre, a death counter, a death counter by spikis, portal losts, particles). The Humor messages are funny.

So, nices but needs more gamey things!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Had fun jumping into my death. :) Nice little game. Hoped there was some sounds tho.

oliver says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15pm

I love the funny messages and the outcome system is an interesting idea.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Hehe. That was great. Is there only one outcome for jumping into the portal? I was trying to work out a "different" way of jumping into it.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

@BrothersT: There's only two (The BULLSEYE one if you get it within 10 pixels [i think!]) and the "Way to go!" message otherwise if you just touch it outside of 10px.
There's the odd bug if you hit the portal but end up colliding with the dead-zone at the bottom of the screen... you'll die anyways :S

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Love the concept. The guy's controlling could be a bit tighter, but otherwise I enjoyed it!

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Where is the source code? It is required for 48hour entries.

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42pm

It's funny, and the mechanic of the responses relative to distance from the portal is interesting. Hard to control and could be cooler with more polish.

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Good graphics. The controls made it a bit frustrating to jump on the portal.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Sweet idea and smooth animation. Sound is badly missing though. Add a score counter and way wind or something to add a bit variety and you get a nice casual game.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:44am

Loled so hard at the commentaries. The lack of air control was even acknowledged in one of them. Nice game

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:22pm

The game was much better once I realized what the portal was. I was expecting a purple void of some sort...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]