December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghostup

by leafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a measly ghost strapped for cash. Head to the human world to haunt strangers and earn some extra ghost bucks. Be careful, you're not very strong so you'll only have a single haunt before you evaporate. Buy some upgrades with your ghost bucks to go deeper into the human world.

Watch out for red ghosts, they can suck your life away. Dodge them or try to haunt them to oblivion.


Controls:
Arrows move
X to haunt
Z to open doors (if you have a key)

How to play:
You only start with one haunt, but you can keep replaying the game with accumulated upgrades. Try to haunt some humans to get some cash, then buy additional health and haunts that will allow you to advance further in the game.

Red ghosts will hurt you if you touch them. If you are careful you can kill them by haunting them, or you can just avoid them.


Features:
Three levels
Two songs
Cool sound effects
Health and haunt upgrade system

It's not as done as I would like (which you'll see if you get to the end) but I hope you enjoy it regardless.

Made in LOVE 0.8.0 with MoonScript http://moonscript.org

Source: https://github.com/leafo/ludum-dare-28


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Audio3.82
#63Graphics4.04
#77Overall3.71
#141Mood3.40
#234Humor2.96
#253Fun3.25
#312Innovation3.18
#626Theme2.64
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12am

Nice concept, and the graphics are stunning! Music is so happy and catchy, did you make it yourself?

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

Really enjoyable to play. It is nice that you managed to get quite a lot graphical content in this short time. The music reminds me of mod tracker music, or music from some old console.

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36am

Really enjoyed this. Good music and everything pretty much. Just wish it could be longer. Way to go!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:39am

Great graphics and sound, kept me playing as long as I did, found game its self was a little bland, but top notch experience around it. Good job!

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:50am

Neat mechanic! Great graphics and controls as well. I think the level design is brilliant as well, big fan of narrow hallways and the bouncy protagonist .

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08am

Love the graphics and audio in this game! Nice work

fysx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Fun little game! Controls really feel ghost-like ;D. Also very good graphics and music! Also I like how the interactions feel and are animated, i.e. how the keys drop on the floor and the "Boo"'s. Well done!

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Quite a fun game. The controls for the ghost feel a bit 'floaty' especially when he bounces off things. It can get a bit frustrating, but I guess that might be what it would be like to remote-control a ghost. Great sound and graphics.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I liked the idea of haunting for fun, at least that's the mood built up with the happy music.
The graphics are very nice too.

p.s.: I just don't get it why do I need a key to open doors since I'm a ghost and could walk through it, hehehe. Just kidding, man. Nice job!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:34pm

This is by far the most adorable entry I have played so far. The "Boo" sound makes me happy- and I don't even like being happy! It detracts from my curmudgeonly image!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Really nice game! Great to see games like this developed with Love and moonscript!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

Very much and very good content for 48 hours. Very cool and fun :) [A little bit annoying: Having to start from the beginning after dying and bouncing off everything can make controls hard. But I think that's the live of a ghost ;) ]
LOVE2D ftw!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

Another excellent entry. Aesthetically pleasing. Can get a bit repetitive.

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

Very fun game, but requiring the player to redo the early areas after running out of haunts is a bummer. Use of the theme was pretty light, but the graphics are killer. Great work.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

I always love the art style you have for your games. What a great tileset! And fantastic music!

Great job!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51am

Wow really great game! Very nice fitting music and sounds. I love the ribbon on the ghost :). Nice details!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice! First thing I thought of when I saw the graphics is old snes games like Zombies ate my neighbours. It's a little repetitive but the fact that you keep your upgrades motivates to go on. It's impressive that you did all of this in just 2 days!

Terry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Really great graphics and audio, esp for 48 hours :)

Mirroar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Neat game, had to play it twice because I didn't have the sound on at first ;)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Beautiful pixel art.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]