December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boomerang Blade

by hamster_mk_4 - Jam Entry

He is a Beliber.
Born wild lands of Canada 19 years ago, he is not alone.
There are others like him, some good, some evil.
For almost a decade he has been entertaining fans,
using zombie clones to augment his talent.
He can not die, unless you take his head and with it his power.
In the end, there can be only one.
He is Justin Bieber the Pop Star.

Update: Now with particle effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#176Humor(Jam)2.73
#242Fun(Jam)2.94
#263Innovation(Jam)2.85
#324Overall(Jam)2.97
#346Graphics(Jam)2.94
#382Audio(Jam)2.38
#383Theme(Jam)2.41
#451Mood(Jam)2.30

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16am

The plot makes me sad. The boomerang likes to fly around. Good for 48h!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18am

Well, that was absolutely delightful.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22am

Hey, cool!! I made a Boomerang game too!! It's a first person game, check it out :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26am

not gonna lie, i played this for like 20 minutes. it was cool to get the glaive spinning around me, but was it programmed to avoid the beibs on its return course to the player?

hazzen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04am

Looks and sounds good for a jam entry. Using Another One Bites The Dust is a bit questionable, though.

I was sad I didn't get any bonus points for hitting multiple targets with one shot, and that it seemed fairly impossible to get hurt. Zombies are too slow to pose a challenge.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:43am

Don't think I've ever seen a four-bladed boomerang before :) Was fun trying to avoid catching the boomerang and fun trying to get them on the return rather than the outbound.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42pm

@Todd Luke
The boomerang accelerates towards the player and turns towards the mouse. With combined movement and mouse positioning you can keep it in the air indefinably and aim it at targets.

@ hazzen
I am crap at music, and I was not going to use a Justin Bieber song.
You get +100 points for every Zombiber you chain in one throw, I added particle effects to indicate this.

@ Will Edwards
I had a 4 bladed plastic boomerang when I was a kid. It got lost in a tree.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43pm

it's a fun game. I had a bug on the second level where I couldn't throw my boomerang when meeting the 2nd zombieber in the north. after two tries I just killed it with a "combo" and I could play on... thumbs up!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Had a good time playing with the boomerang, loved the physics.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29am

That was pretty hilarious. When I heard "YOLO" I went into a murderous rage. Good job!

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:33am

This was way more fun than the Bieber presence would let on to! Solid mechanic and design implementation. I am a believer for this entry ;)

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:24am

The funniest part is to move around the boomergang and make it fly forever. Funny!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49am

Great use of the theme, the weapon mechanic is really cool and unique.
Sometimes it was hard to keep it in the air but I think that just comes with practice.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Innovative mechanic, and nice use of the theme. It got a bit repetitive though, not very challenging. Had fun killing Zombiebers, though xD

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I loved the idea of keeping the boomerang in the air and trying for combos, but the hitboxes on either the zombies or the boomerang were too small. Frequently I'd throw the boomerang and have it seemingly pass through a target. The boomerang is too hard to aim precisely when you're keeping it in the air, so a larger boomerang radius or bigger zombie hitboxes would be a big improvement.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Actually kinda impressive

Lafolie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:34am

Fun game, decent 3D graphics for LD.

somepx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:31am

Solid 3D graphics - didn't get the theme reference, good anyway

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Really cool boomerang throwing mechanic and the game overall was pretty fun.

Conflei says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:30am

AWESOME Hahaha Very Funny Nice Music.
Kill the biebs!

bitserum says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:57am

JB killing JB Zombies, what a game. Its very nice for 48 hours. Boomerang control is really fun. If you time your movement right you can let if fly forever on whole level.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Cool game, very fun, love the fact that they get be-headed. I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

mmickyman says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I didn't understand at first you have to go back on the bus. Pretty well done in 48h.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Hahahahaha... Kill beliebers.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:53am

Interesting game. The boomerang was actually pretty well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]