December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cubinca

by Killswitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My original idea was scrapped because it was kinda complicated. Good thing I came up with something simpler. :)
You are the blue block. Your goal is to survive for about one minute by avoiding the red block. Use your navigation keys to move. You have only one life. There are no checkpoints; if you die, the game will literally close. If you ever see the green background, it means that you win. ^_^

EDIT: IF THE RED BLOCK DOESN'T MOVE, PLEASE DON'T RATE IT! THANKS!
EDITx2: I CHANGED SOMETHING TO THE GAME CODE SO I HOPE THE RED BLOCK MOVES.
EDITx3: This is a sentence.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#859Innovation2.26
#924Mood1.27
#960Theme1.84
#987Graphics1.26
#1004Fun1.42
#1009Overall1.68
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:15am

good starting point, this game need a UI to see how close you are two win ( a bar ? ), you can also add the possibilities of make the red cube divide itself in relation ship of the time:
between 0-30 1 red cube
30-40 two red cubes
40-50 three
and so on.

Killswitch says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Heh heh. Out of time to implement those. :P

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34am

The game at the start is rather confusing because the red block never moves until 20 odd seconds in, its also a bit easy

Killswitch says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Hehe....thanks for the review. :P Also, please read the updated info.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice idea more features would be cool :)

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:09am

Could not get the red block to move, so will not vote. :/

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:15am

It was a good try, but it lacked a lot of polish :(

epb9000 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:22am

It's an interesting idea. I got tired of waiting for some kind of win thing, so I just rammed the red cube (it did move) after about 2 minutes because YOLO.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Cool idea, though the red seemed slightly slow? Maybe just me. Good work!

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Yes, a nice idea, but are there graphics anywhere? Seems more like the result of the first tutorial of an OpenGL or DirectX tutorial. And the read square moves way too slow so it is very boring.

Killswitch says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:25am

AAAhhh....did you any of you guys reach 30 seconds? :O The red block should move fast. :P

Killswitch says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:26am

*should move fast at the stage.

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very, very simple but effective.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:49am

Red block does not move, and therefore I am sad :(

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:38am

red block moved so slowly...

Killswitch says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:54am

I forgot to mention that this game should work properly on Windows 32-bit only....I should work on a 64-bit version. :O

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:03pm

The red square moved so slowly compared to the blue square that it ended up being more a game of patience than skill or strategy. Unfortunately, I don't have much patience and met death by walking into the red square after a couple minutes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]