December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SLIMEPILE

by vandriver - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys move. Up/space jumps. Little slimes will dogpile with you if you jump.

Hated this theme, which is pretty usual. Couldn't think of anything for the first full 24 hours. Gave up until a friend (Machinas) convinced me to do at least something, so it's not terribly much of a game. Just a goofy diversion. The idea was that each slime would get one attack, and you can only control one at a time. With a bit of variety and required timing, it might have been more of a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1678Coolness14%

Comments

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Too bad it didn't work out man. We all have that sometimes.
I think this could still have been a lot with some more time, 'cause I've seen you do better ;) And cheers for the effort!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

Wow, this is crazy innovative. I love the reverse RPG stuff and you added some great humor here. I mean, it's obviously incomplete but what's here is very promising. The control, the animation, the colors. It's all really solid.

I don't really get the theme that much, though. Based on your description I was assuming I'd be controlling a single slime but then they all kind of attack together.

I totally relate to some of what he says, too. "RNG IS BULLSHIT" got me as well as him just wanting to complete the set.

Sucks that you struggled with the theme, but you still pulled out a memorable game even if it is incomplete.

vandriver says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Thanks guys. Yep, got beaten by the theme this time. Kind of, since I still made something anyway.

@sonny yeah all the slimes jumping with you was going to maybe be an ability you earned or something later. I don't even know haha. I think I just over thought the theme and hamstrung myself. I learn a new lesson each dare. This was to just start making anything.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Lesson learned = LD success

vandriver says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52pm

yeah, definitely.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

Yeah just making something was something I did 2 LD's ago and that ultimately brought me my first commercial game (on iOS) which I am very proud of, so that's a great lesson to learn!

lumberman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Everything has to make agreements, the theme was not an easy one, even me I should make my first ld ... no inspirations with this theme

Wow Nice ! vandriver is probably not the right time, but why not participate in
mini ld?
Otherwise you would have your own website with your own games like sony
(phantom green)

I'm french :-) Peace ...

Elforama says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I like the idea behind the game, and the humor. Can't that that darn guy complete his set!

abeing says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I love it! very surprising game, i like the idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]