December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get 1-1

by headchant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small platformer/exploration game.

Move... arrowkeys
Jump... up or space
Run... x

Show Time... t

Controller is recommended. Might run weird on slower pcs, sorry.

P.S. For the linux guys: Love 0.8.0
PP.S: also some graphical glitches when you use the love chrome plugin. -> don't use it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#51Mood3.74
#95Audio3.46
#192Overall3.42
#197Fun3.35
#361Graphics3.19
#613Theme2.66
#625Humor1.96
#773Innovation2.46

Comments

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

Interesting. The music was really creepy (not sure if good or bad thing!). I almost stopped at the flag without realizing though...

Lazdo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

happy wheels and super meat boy mash-up?

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Nice feel to it, the audio was good too.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

interesting concept :)

kragsalt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

Very cool! The platforming was solid, and easy to control even on a keyboard! (On a 360 controller, the movement is mapped to the triggers, though) I really liked the mood; the music and block silhouettes made the game a bit feel creepy, but the atmosphere really piqued my curiosity!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Really cool idea to use the first SMB level ! Great concept, I like it, the music/ambiance is mysterious I like it.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Very inspired take on the theme. I enjoyed this one a lot!

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31am

10:47, died 41 times. Great game as always headchant

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Wonderful stuff! Really atmospheric and much more than it appears. Enjoyed it a bunch. 4 rubies, 48 coins, 1 key. :)

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30pm

nice platformer, very professional desing. Good entry.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Very, very clever. Lovely aesthetic paired with great music, and a very solid platforming mechanic. Nice work

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Nice game, its really atmospheric and dark. You've got a really solid platforming engine here, and the level design was fun to play, being challenging, but not too difficult.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

This is amazing. Best LD game I've played/rated as of yet. In many ways this is a perfect platform game without any flaws. The save points were just right, not too easy, not too hard. Progressing by collecting skills is a great tutorial. Level design really gave me the feeling of wonder and exploration, music was suitably creepy. Love that you used the Mario level but made it black, felt like I was trapped in some kind of evil alternate Mario universe. When I dropped down I thought "oh it's just repeating the same level" but then I realised the spikes were there. When the game ended I was disappointed... I wanted more!

Overall, fantastic entry, and was really amazed as it felt like you had a large team of playtesters working for months to get the gameplay this tight. Good job!

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

Nice! I really liked the feel, the length and the mood.

Pros:
- I liked the green/black color scheme for the environment
- The audio was great, and helped the mood.
- I liked the expansion of the level.

Cons:
- The controls were a little awkward
- The main character had too much color (when compared to the rest of the game)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

Ahhh! This game is great! Fantastic music, and most of all I love how clean of a platformer this is! Great job!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

Visual style is nice. I had issues when trying to use a PS4 controller, both native and using a program that makes it work like an Xbox360 controller.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Slight graphical bug! But enjoyable never the less.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Haha. Really nice interpretation of the theme. I have this whole level memorized like the back of my hand. Pretty solid stuff.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Atmospheric, I like that. Platformer's pretty standard though, nothing new there, but it was solid (and rather frustrating). Overall, very cool.

goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44am

Very interesting. Definitely a keeper, will try to finish it later. The overall feeling of the game is just wonderful.

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35am

really great mood, music and graphics fits really well together, I am really shitty at sadistic platformers though, :(

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04pm

7:2 38 deaths, 4 rubes, 32 coins, 1 key.
The game was a little bit creepy for my taste but even like this it kept me playing till the end so awesome game indeed

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Anyone else having issues with the download link for Windows? isn't working for me :o

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:19pm

scrap that. Working now!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great game. Graphics are simple, but they works really good with your game. Music is simply awesome. It keeps me all time at tensio, and the idea about get the abilities one by one works fine when you advance with the game. Great game

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I don't have a controller, unfortunately hehe! :)
The graphics reminds me of "One and One Story".

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I will have to say that of the ~40 LD games I've rated so far, this one is going to get the highest rating. Such a great mariotroid-vania! I loved unlocking the helmet and double jump. I expected more back-tracking, but enjoyed all the spikes anyway. 48 coins 4 rubies.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:31am

9:43, 45 deaths. nooice.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:15am

I didn't think at first I was going to playing it for so long, usually I dislike going back and forth. But your replay mechanic (a la super meat boy, as others say) keep me playing. Good job.

Inusual way to use the theme btw ahah.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Awesome and very thoughtful level design and a lot of content for a 48h comp. Also a great soundtrack.

cardboard says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:36am

7:40, 19 deaths, 4 rubies, 331 coins, and 3 keys :D Great game, although I too almost stopped at the flag before realizing I had to drop down the hole to keep playing. The gameplay is solid and the atmosphere is sufficiently somber.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]