December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Soldier

by caribou - Jam Entry

SERVER IS DOWN, MOVING THE COMPUTER

_________________

THE LAST SOLDIER
_________________

You can live only once (hoho original), if you end the round without dying, you shoot faster and regen life faster, the more you kill the more you stack.

If you kill someone who has leveled up, you get +[1] +[half his level]

This a multiplayer online game so bring your friends.
_______________________

Controls : WASD + MOUSE
_______________________

/!\ Level 4 is OP
/!\ If you don't want your ears to bleed, you might be better turning off the sound.
/!\ There's a bug where sometimes your double is appearing.
________________________

Twitter : @caribouloche
________________________

Haxe : flash/openfl (client-side), cpp (server-side)
PyxelEdit for the map
GraphicsGale for character and animation
Photoshop for various stuff
Bfxr for sound !? probably a bad advertisement though

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47pm

This is so much fun! Bottom left is a good place to hide. xD

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Very cool game ! Despite the fact I saw myself twice (I suppose that I saw one instance of myself from both server and client side), I really enjoyed this game :D

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Impressive for 48 hours! Networking is usually a great pain so I give you much respect. Too bad I was the only one playing but I will try again later. Well done!

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:07pm

I followed your journals and was really looking to playing this game!
I've just tested it, and it lauches (I see the levels and the hello message), but then nothing happens! Is your server currently down?
I'm using Firefox and Flash 11.5.

Anyway congrats for coding a networked flash game looking that nice in 72h!

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:28pm

No-one online to play with :'( Multiplayer games are always good fun though, nice job on making it in 72h.

You should consider rating games in large batches so that your game bumps up to the front-page for a short while. That way you'll have some players simultaneously playing, instead of people trickling in one by one.

caribou says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Sorry for the lack of players, i guess a good idea is to just throw the link on IRC, people generally just check out and you'll have a few minutes of game.

For the game not working, i noticed today that there was a weird bug, it's only client-side and it seems to stop popping at some point if you spam refresh (hopefully).

funktor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:10am

Really enjoy games like this! The sound is awful, and my double kept appearing though. Overall, a fun game though!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Great fun although I agree level 4 is OP. Nice work on making multiplayer. I like the art style too :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Cool... Multiplayer is awesome :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

great looking game! i found the movement lagging and sort of bugging out in the latest version of chrome on a mac.

caribou says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

Sorry for the lag, the compensation code is quite naive. I also just moved my computer and so the connection for the holidays which might not help. I'm in europe, if you're american that's no luck :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]