December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

This is not golf

by bizn355 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was made using construct 2 so the "Windows" version is basically the same as the web one.
So I started this by creating an early prototype for a golf game. Things were going smoothly until I got home from the cinema and realized I was way too tired to work. (I kinda snapped on livestream)Then decided that doing something completely different would be a much better option. So I did. and now there is a game that has no reference to golf other than one of the objectives of the game. Which is to kinda play golf. with a hovering tank.

You are given one objective to follow. Try to complete the objective and rack up the largest score.
Letting the blue "wings" touch any part of the floor will cause a game over.
Basically don't tip your tank over!
Due to the finicky way the tank handles this is quite a challenge.
Make sure you turn the volume down a bit when using chrome... it can sometimes be a bit loud.

You can find the music from this game and plenty more from my soundcloud page - http://soundcloud.com/bizn355/sets/ludum-dare-28

Otherwise I thank you for finding this game and playing it :D
Controls/Keyboard!
A - go left
D - Go right
W / up - Rotate turret Clockwise
S / down - Rotate turret Counter-Clockwise
Enter / Return - Fire your cannon
Spacebar - Jump

Controls/Xbox 360 controller:
Left analogue stick - Move tank left + right
Right analogue stick - Aim turret
Right trigger - Fire cannon
A - Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Humor2.60
#759Fun2.47
#847Innovation2.29
#889Overall2.47
#927Graphics1.94
#982Theme1.71
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

If you don't jump (say fall off a cliff) the left/right controls still work so you start flying. If that was intentional, that was awesome.

bizn355 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

@Ratboy2713 There are a few other gravity / movement bugs in there because of me trying stupidly over-complicated ways of fixing them... (That's kinda where the whole "Fly off the ledge" bug came from) Thanks for playing :D

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Really enjoyed the game! Great idea and it was very interesting. Thought the graphics turned out nicely too!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

The controls were a little awkward but I still found it fun, nice job! :)

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55am

The controls were hilarious. Was laughing five seconds in.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Launching yourself into the air with your own cannon was pretty fun!

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:40pm

That was pretty silly, but quite enjoyable.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:40am

I couldn't figure out why I failed - though I did start trying top fly off the end of the screen to see how far I could get once airborne. :)

monkeymad2 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:21am

Getting a 404 error from the Web link just now

bizn355 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:26am

@monkeymad3 It's fixed now. had a little problem with my host going down.

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:05am

Still getting the 404, both Web and Windows version

Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Not works...

bizn355 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:52am

@Dry Tree & Gazpacho Games
Right. Now its definitely fixed.

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:57pm

It is still giving a 404 error.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]